lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 26 Nov 2020 11:45:50 +0100
From:   Hans de Goede <hdegoede@...hat.com>
To:     Mike Travis <mike.travis@....com>,
        Justin Ernst <justin.ernst@....com>,
        Mark Gross <mgross@...ux.intel.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
        x86@...nel.org, Steve Wahl <steve.wahl@....com>
Cc:     Dimitri Sivanich <dimitri.sivanich@....com>,
        Russ Anderson <russ.anderson@....com>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@...nel.org>,
        Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@....com>,
        Ilya Dryomov <idryomov@...il.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, platform-driver-x86@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 4/5] x86/platform/uv: Add deprecated messages to /proc
 info leaves

Hi,

On 11/25/20 6:29 PM, Mike Travis wrote:
> Add "deprecated" message to any access to old /proc/sgi_uv/* leaves.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Mike Travis <mike.travis@....com>
> Reviewed-by: Steve Wahl <steve.wahl@....com>
> ---
>  arch/x86/kernel/apic/x2apic_uv_x.c | 26 +++++++++++++++++++++++++-
>  1 file changed, 25 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
> 
> diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/apic/x2apic_uv_x.c b/arch/x86/kernel/apic/x2apic_uv_x.c
> index 48746031b39a..bfd77a00c2a1 100644
> --- a/arch/x86/kernel/apic/x2apic_uv_x.c
> +++ b/arch/x86/kernel/apic/x2apic_uv_x.c
> @@ -1615,21 +1615,45 @@ static void check_efi_reboot(void)
>  		reboot_type = BOOT_ACPI;
>  }
>  
> -/* Setup user proc fs files */
> +/*
> + * User proc fs file handling now deprecated.
> + * Recommend using /sys/firmware/sgi_uv/... instead.
> + */
> +static void proc_print_msg(int *flag, char *what, char *which)
> +{
> +	if (*flag)
> +		return;
> +
> +	pr_notice(
> +		"%s: using deprecated /proc/sgi_uv/%s, use /sys/firmware/sgi_uv/%s\n",
> +		current->comm, what, which ? which : what);
> +
> +	*flag = 1;
> +}
> +

You have just re-invented pr_notice_once, please just use pr_notice_once
directly in the _show functions.

Regards,

Hans




>  static int __maybe_unused proc_hubbed_show(struct seq_file *file, void *data)
>  {
> +	static int flag;
> +
> +	proc_print_msg(&flag, "hubbed", "hub_type");
>  	seq_printf(file, "0x%x\n", uv_hubbed_system);
>  	return 0;
>  }
>  
>  static int __maybe_unused proc_hubless_show(struct seq_file *file, void *data)
>  {
> +	static int flag;
> +
> +	proc_print_msg(&flag, "hubless", NULL);
>  	seq_printf(file, "0x%x\n", uv_hubless_system);
>  	return 0;
>  }
>  
>  static int __maybe_unused proc_archtype_show(struct seq_file *file, void *data)
>  {
> +	static int flag;
> +
> +	proc_print_msg(&flag, "archtype", NULL);
>  	seq_printf(file, "%s/%s\n", uv_archtype, oem_table_id);
>  	return 0;
>  }
> 

Powered by blists - more mailing lists