lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 03 Dec 2020 16:04:52 -0800
From:   Stephen Boyd <swboyd@...omium.org>
To:     Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...nel.org>,
        Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@....com>,
        Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@...aro.org>,
        Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@....com>
Cc:     Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, Mike Leach <mike.leach@...aro.org>,
        Leo Yan <leo.yan@...aro.org>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Tingwei Zhang <tingwei@...eaurora.org>,
        Sai Prakash Ranjan <saiprakash.ranjan@...eaurora.org>,
        Mian Yousaf Kaukab <ykaukab@...e.de>,
        Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@...cle.com>,
        coresight@...ts.linaro.org, linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-stm32@...md-mailman.stormreply.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH] coresight: remove broken __exit annotations

Quoting Arnd Bergmann (2020-12-03 15:11:40)
> From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>
> 
> Functions that are annotated __exit are discarded for built-in drivers,
> but the .remove callback in a device driver must still be kept around
> to allow bind/unbind operations.
> 
> There is now a linker warning for the discarded symbol references:
> 
> `tmc_remove' referenced in section `.data' of drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight-tmc-core.o: defined in discarded section `.exit.text' of drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight-tmc-core.o
> `tpiu_remove' referenced in section `.data' of drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight-tpiu.o: defined in discarded section `.exit.text' of drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight-tpiu.o
> `etb_remove' referenced in section `.data' of drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight-etb10.o: defined in discarded section `.exit.text' of drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight-etb10.o
> `static_funnel_remove' referenced in section `.data' of drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight-funnel.o: defined in discarded section `.exit.text' of drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight-funnel.o
> `dynamic_funnel_remove' referenced in section `.data' of drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight-funnel.o: defined in discarded section `.exit.text' of drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight-funnel.o
> `static_replicator_remove' referenced in section `.data' of drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight-replicator.o: defined in discarded section `.exit.text' of drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight-replicator.o
> `dynamic_replicator_remove' referenced in section `.data' of drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight-replicator.o: defined in discarded section `.exit.text' of drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight-replicator.o
> `catu_remove' referenced in section `.data' of drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight-catu.o: defined in discarded section `.exit.text' of drivers/hwtracing/coresight/coresight-catu.o
> 
> Remove all those annotations.
> 
> Fixes: 8b0cf82677d1 ("coresight: stm: Allow to build coresight-stm as a module")
> Signed-off-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>
> ---

Reviewed-by: Stephen Boyd <swboyd@...omium.org>

Powered by blists - more mailing lists