lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 15 Dec 2020 08:40:37 +1100
From:   Stephen Rothwell <sfr@...b.auug.org.au>
To:     Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc:     David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
        Jarkko Sakkinen <jarkko@...nel.org>,
        "Alexander A. Klimov" <grandmaster@...klimov.de>,
        "Gustavo A. R. Silva" <gustavoars@...nel.org>,
        Alex Shi <alex.shi@...ux.alibaba.com>,
        Ben Boeckel <mathstuf@...il.com>,
        Denis Efremov <efremov@...ux.com>,
        Gabriel Krisman Bertazi <krisman@...labora.com>,
        Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>,
        Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@...nel.org>,
        Mickaël Salaün <mic@...ux.microsoft.com>,
        Mimi Zohar <zohar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
        Tianjia Zhang <tianjia.zhang@...ux.alibaba.com>,
        Tom Rix <trix@...hat.com>, YueHaibing <yuehaibing@...wei.com>,
        keyrings@...r.kernel.org,
        Linux Crypto Mailing List <linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        LSM List <linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [GIT PULL] keys: Collected minor fixes and cleanups

Hi Linus,

On Mon, 14 Dec 2020 13:05:51 -0800 Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org> wrote:
>
> On Mon, Dec 14, 2020 at 12:49 PM Linus Torvalds
> <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org> wrote:
> >
> > I suspect the fix is trivial (change the "," to "|"), but I will not
> > be pulling this - or anything else that hasn't been in linux-next -
> > from you this merge window.  
> 
> It looks like Stephen Rothwell saw it in next yesterday, and fixed it
> up there in his merge.
> 
> So somebody was aware of the problem. But unlike Stephen, I don't take
> broken code and just silently fix it up in the merge.
> 
> I suspect Stephen might have thought it was a merge conflict fix,
> rather than just a broken branch.
> 
> Stephen: that makes linux-next test coverage kind of pointless, if you
> just fix bugs in the branches you merge. You should reject things more
> aggressively, rather than make them "pass" in Linux-next.

I also reported it last Friday
(https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20201211155031.0e35abf2@canb.auug.org.au/)
and so assumed it would be fixed before being sent to you ... I
sometimes fix simple things up but mostly reject them - clearly that
would not have made a difference here.

-- 
Cheers,
Stephen Rothwell

Content of type "application/pgp-signature" skipped

Powered by blists - more mailing lists