lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 15 Dec 2020 19:28:10 +0200
From:   Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@...il.com>
To:     Calvin Johnson <calvin.johnson@....nxp.com>
Cc:     Grant Likely <grant.likely@....com>,
        "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>,
        Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@....com>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Russell King - ARM Linux admin <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Cristi Sovaiala <cristian.sovaiala@....com>,
        Florin Laurentiu Chiculita <florinlaurentiu.chiculita@....com>,
        Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@....com>,
        Madalin Bucur <madalin.bucur@....nxp.com>,
        Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@...ux.intel.com>,
        Marcin Wojtas <mw@...ihalf.com>,
        Pieter Jansen Van Vuuren <pieter.jansenvv@...boosystems.io>,
        Jon <jon@...id-run.com>, "linux.cj" <linux.cj@...il.com>,
        Laurentiu Tudor <laurentiu.tudor@....com>,
        Diana Madalina Craciun <diana.craciun@....com>,
        ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-arm Mailing List <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        netdev <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>
Subject: Re: [net-next PATCH v2 04/14] net: phy: Introduce fwnode_get_phy_id()

On Tue, Dec 15, 2020 at 6:44 PM Calvin Johnson
<calvin.johnson@....nxp.com> wrote:
>
> Extract phy_id from compatible string. This will be used by
> fwnode_mdiobus_register_phy() to create phy device using the
> phy_id.

...

> +       if (sscanf(cp, "ethernet-phy-id%4x.%4x", &upper, &lower) == 2) {
> +               *phy_id = ((upper & 0xFFFF) << 16) | (lower & 0xFFFF);
> +               return 0;
> +       }
> +       return -EINVAL;

Perhaps traditional pattern, i.e.
       if (sscanf(cp, "ethernet-phy-id%4x.%4x", &upper, &lower) != 2)
               return -EINVAL;

       *phy_id = ((upper & 0xFFFF) << 16) | (lower & 0xFFFF);
       return 0;

And perhaps GENMASK() ?

-- 
With Best Regards,
Andy Shevchenko

Powered by blists - more mailing lists