lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 16 Dec 2020 09:39:10 +0100
From:   Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...nel.org>
To:     Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>
Cc:     lkml <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@...llo.nl>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Michael Petlan <mpetlan@...hat.com>,
        Ian Rogers <irogers@...gle.com>,
        Stephane Eranian <eranian@...gle.com>,
        Alexei Budankov <abudankov@...wei.com>
Subject: [PATCHv3 0/4] perf tools: Allow to enable/disable events via control pipe

hi,
adding support to enable/disable specific events via control
file via following commands:

    # echo 'enable sched:sched_process_fork' > control
    # echo 'disabled sched:sched_process_fork' > control

v3 changes:
  - use ' ' instead of '-' in syntax and add command argument
    processing [Arnaldo]
  - add options to evlist [Arnaldo]
  - add man page changes

v2 changes:
  - added acks
  - change list to evlist [Arnaldo]
  - add evlist-verbose command [Arnaldo]
  - add '' to enale-/disable- error message

The code is available in here:
  git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/jolsa/perf.git
  perf/control

thanks,
jirka


---
Jiri Olsa (4):
      perf tools: Reformat record's control fd man text
      perf tools: Add evlist__disable_evsel/evlist__enable_evsel
      perf tools: Allow to enable/disable events via control file
      perf tools: Add evlist control command

 tools/perf/Documentation/perf-record.txt |  23 +++++++++++----
 tools/perf/builtin-record.c              |   9 ++----
 tools/perf/builtin-stat.c                |   3 +-
 tools/perf/util/evlist.c                 | 173 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++----
 tools/perf/util/evlist.h                 |   4 +++
 tools/perf/util/evsel_fprintf.c          |   2 ++
 tools/perf/util/python-ext-sources       |   1 +
 tools/perf/util/setup.py                 |   2 +-
 8 files changed, 197 insertions(+), 20 deletions(-)

Powered by blists - more mailing lists