lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 16 Dec 2020 09:39:11 +0100
From:   Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...nel.org>
To:     Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>
Cc:     lkml <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@...llo.nl>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Michael Petlan <mpetlan@...hat.com>,
        Ian Rogers <irogers@...gle.com>,
        Stephane Eranian <eranian@...gle.com>,
        Alexei Budankov <abudankov@...wei.com>
Subject: [PATCH 1/4] perf tools: Reformat record's control fd man text

Adding available control commands in separate paragraph,
so it's more readable and easier to add new commands.

Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...nel.org>
---
 tools/perf/Documentation/perf-record.txt | 16 +++++++++++-----
 1 file changed, 11 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-record.txt b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-record.txt
index 768888b9326a..f896c4b791e1 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-record.txt
+++ b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-record.txt
@@ -634,11 +634,17 @@ endif::HAVE_LIBPFM[]
 --control=fifo:ctl-fifo[,ack-fifo]::
 --control=fd:ctl-fd[,ack-fd]::
 ctl-fifo / ack-fifo are opened and used as ctl-fd / ack-fd as follows.
-Listen on ctl-fd descriptor for command to control measurement ('enable': enable events,
-'disable': disable events, 'snapshot': AUX area tracing snapshot). Measurements can be
-started with events disabled using --delay=-1 option. Optionally send control command
-completion ('ack\n') to ack-fd descriptor to synchronize with the controlling process.
-Example of bash shell script to enable and disable events during measurements:
+Listen on ctl-fd descriptor for command to control measurement.
+
+Available commands:
+  'enable'  : enable events
+  'disable' : disable events
+  'snapshot': AUX area tracing snapshot).
+
+Measurements can be started with events disabled using --delay=-1 option. Optionally
+send control command completion ('ack\n') to ack-fd descriptor to synchronize with the
+controlling process.  Example of bash shell script to enable and disable events during
+measurements:
 
  #!/bin/bash
 
-- 
2.26.2

Powered by blists - more mailing lists