lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 31 Dec 2020 15:29:34 +0100
From:   Paul Kocialkowski <paul.kocialkowski@...tlin.com>
To:     linux-media@...r.kernel.org, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-doc@...r.kernel.org, devel@...verdev.osuosl.org,
        linux-sunxi@...glegroups.com
Cc:     Yong Deng <yong.deng@...ewell.com>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@...nel.org>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Maxime Ripard <mripard@...nel.org>,
        Chen-Yu Tsai <wens@...e.org>,
        Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@...l.net>,
        Paul Kocialkowski <paul.kocialkowski@...tlin.com>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@...com>,
        Vinod Koul <vkoul@...nel.org>,
        Helen Koike <helen.koike@...labora.com>,
        Dafna Hirschfeld <dafna.hirschfeld@...labora.com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@...gutronix.de>,
        Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@...ux.intel.com>,
        Hans Verkuil <hans.verkuil@...co.com>,
        Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@...tlin.com>,
        kevin.lhopital@...mail.com
Subject: [PATCH v4 01/15] docs: phy: Add a part about PHY mode and submode

Besides giving pointers to the relevant functions for PHY mode and
submode configuration, this clarifies the need to set them before
powering on the PHY.

Signed-off-by: Paul Kocialkowski <paul.kocialkowski@...tlin.com>
Reviewed-by: Maxime Ripard <mripard@...nel.org>
---
 Documentation/driver-api/phy/phy.rst | 18 ++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 18 insertions(+)

diff --git a/Documentation/driver-api/phy/phy.rst b/Documentation/driver-api/phy/phy.rst
index 8fc1ce0bb905..6cbc72707a49 100644
--- a/Documentation/driver-api/phy/phy.rst
+++ b/Documentation/driver-api/phy/phy.rst
@@ -195,3 +195,21 @@ DeviceTree Binding
 
 The documentation for PHY dt binding can be found @
 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/phy/phy-bindings.txt
+
+PHY Mode and Submode
+====================
+
+Once a reference to a PHY is obtained by a controller, the PHY can be configured
+to a PHY mode and submode. PHY modes are described in the `phy_mode` enum while
+submodes are specific to the selected PHY mode.
+
+Mode and submode configuration is done by calling::
+
+	int phy_set_mode_ext(struct phy *phy, enum phy_mode mode, int submode);
+
+If no submode is to be configured, users can call::
+
+	int phy_set_mode(struct phy *phy, enum phy_mode mode);
+
+The PHY mode and submode must not be configured after the PHY has already been
+powered on.
-- 
2.29.2

Powered by blists - more mailing lists