lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 27 Jan 2021 17:27:09 -0800
From:   Andrii Nakryiko <andrii.nakryiko@...il.com>
To:     Sedat Dilek <sedat.dilek@...il.com>
Cc:     Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andrii@...nel.org>,
        Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@...com>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>, Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>,
        John Fastabend <john.fastabend@...il.com>,
        KP Singh <kpsingh@...nel.org>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,
        Nathan Chancellor <natechancellor@...il.com>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Quentin Monnet <quentin@...valent.com>,
        Jean-Philippe Brucker <jean-philippe@...aro.org>,
        Tobias Klauser <tklauser@...tanz.ch>,
        Ilya Leoshkevich <iii@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Andrey Ignatov <rdna@...com>,
        Stephane Eranian <eranian@...gle.com>,
        "Frank Ch. Eigler" <fche@...hat.com>,
        Thomas Hebb <tommyhebb@...il.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Briana Oursler <briana.oursler@...il.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Davide Caratti <dcaratti@...hat.com>,
        Networking <netdev@...r.kernel.org>, bpf <bpf@...r.kernel.org>,
        open list <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        "open list:KERNEL SELFTEST FRAMEWORK" 
        <linux-kselftest@...r.kernel.org>,
        clang-built-linux <clang-built-linux@...glegroups.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH RFC v2] tools: Factor Clang, LLC and LLVM utils definitions

On Thu, Jan 21, 2021 at 4:32 PM Sedat Dilek <sedat.dilek@...il.com> wrote:
>
> When dealing with BPF/BTF/pahole and DWARF v5 I wanted to build bpftool.
>
> While looking into the source code I found duplicate assignments
> in misc tools for the LLVM eco system, e.g. clang and llvm-objcopy.
>
> Move the Clang, LLC and/or LLVM utils definitions to
> tools/scripts/Makefile.include file and add missing
> includes where needed.
> Honestly, I was inspired by commit c8a950d0d3b9
> ("tools: Factor HOSTCC, HOSTLD, HOSTAR definitions").
>
> I tested with bpftool and perf on Debian/testing AMD64 and
> LLVM/Clang v11.1.0-rc1.
>
> Build instructions:
>
> [ make and make-options ]
> MAKE="make V=1"
> MAKE_OPTS="HOSTCC=clang HOSTCXX=clang++ HOSTLD=ld.lld CC=clang LD=ld.lld LLVM=1 LLVM_IAS=1"
> MAKE_OPTS="$MAKE_OPTS PAHOLE=/opt/pahole/bin/pahole"
>
> [ clean-up ]
> $MAKE $MAKE_OPTS -C tools/ clean
>
> [ bpftool ]
> $MAKE $MAKE_OPTS -C tools/bpf/bpftool/
>
> [ perf ]
> PYTHON=python3 $MAKE $MAKE_OPTS -C tools/perf/
>
> I was careful with respecting the user's wish to override custom compiler,
> linker, GNU/binutils and/or LLVM utils settings.
>
> Some personal notes:
> 1. I have NOT tested with cross-toolchain for other archs (cross compiler/linker etc.).
> 2. This patch is on top of Linux v5.11-rc4.
>
> I hope to get some feedback from especially Linux-bpf folks.
>
> Acked-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com> # tools/build and tools/perf
> Signed-off-by: Sedat Dilek <sedat.dilek@...il.com>
> ---

Hi Sedat,

If no one objects, we'll take this through bpf-next tree. Can you
please re-send this as a non-RFC patch against the bpf-next tree? Feel
free to add my ack. Thanks.

> Changelog RFC v1->v2:
> - Add Jiri's ACK
> - Adapt to fit Linux v5.11-rc4
>

[...]

Powered by blists - more mailing lists