lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 13 Feb 2021 14:12:38 +0000
From:   Alexander Lobakin <alobakin@...me>
To:     "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>
Cc:     Jonathan Lemon <jonathan.lemon@...il.com>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
        Willem de Bruijn <willemb@...gle.com>,
        Alexander Lobakin <alobakin@...me>,
        Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
        Kevin Hao <haokexin@...il.com>,
        Pablo Neira Ayuso <pablo@...filter.org>,
        Jakub Sitnicki <jakub@...udflare.com>,
        Marco Elver <elver@...gle.com>,
        Dexuan Cui <decui@...rosoft.com>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Jesper Dangaard Brouer <brouer@...hat.com>,
        Alexander Duyck <alexanderduyck@...com>,
        Alexander Duyck <alexander.duyck@...il.com>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@...com>,
        Taehee Yoo <ap420073@...il.com>, Wei Wang <weiwan@...gle.com>,
        Cong Wang <xiyou.wangcong@...il.com>,
        Björn Töpel <bjorn@...nel.org>,
        Miaohe Lin <linmiaohe@...wei.com>,
        Guillaume Nault <gnault@...hat.com>,
        Florian Westphal <fw@...len.de>,
        Edward Cree <ecree.xilinx@...il.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH v6 net-next 09/11] skbuff: allow to optionally use NAPI cache from __alloc_skb()

Reuse the old and forgotten SKB_ALLOC_NAPI to add an option to get
an skbuff_head from the NAPI cache instead of inplace allocation
inside __alloc_skb().
This implies that the function is called from softirq or BH-off
context, not for allocating a clone or from a distant node.

Cc: Alexander Duyck <alexander.duyck@...il.com> # Simplified flags check
Signed-off-by: Alexander Lobakin <alobakin@...me>
---
 net/core/skbuff.c | 6 +++++-
 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/net/core/skbuff.c b/net/core/skbuff.c
index 9e1a8ded4acc..a80581eed7fc 100644
--- a/net/core/skbuff.c
+++ b/net/core/skbuff.c
@@ -405,7 +405,11 @@ struct sk_buff *__alloc_skb(unsigned int size, gfp_t gfp_mask,
 		gfp_mask |= __GFP_MEMALLOC;
 
 	/* Get the HEAD */
-	skb = kmem_cache_alloc_node(cache, gfp_mask & ~__GFP_DMA, node);
+	if ((flags & (SKB_ALLOC_FCLONE | SKB_ALLOC_NAPI)) == SKB_ALLOC_NAPI &&
+	    likely(node == NUMA_NO_NODE || node == numa_mem_id()))
+		skb = napi_skb_cache_get();
+	else
+		skb = kmem_cache_alloc_node(cache, gfp_mask & ~GFP_DMA, node);
 	if (unlikely(!skb))
 		return NULL;
 	prefetchw(skb);
-- 
2.30.1


Powered by blists - more mailing lists