lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 01 Oct 2021 16:22:46 -0700
From:   Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@...ux.intel.com>
To:     Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@...aro.org>
Cc:     Barry Song <21cnbao@...il.com>,
        Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@....com>,
        LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Aubrey Li <aubrey.li@...ux.intel.com>,
        Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
        Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@...hat.com>,
        Ben Segall <bsegall@...gle.com>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Guodong Xu <guodong.xu@...aro.org>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Jonathan Cameron <jonathan.cameron@...wei.com>,
        Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@...hat.com>,
        "Cc: Len Brown" <lenb@...nel.org>,
        ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org>,
        LAK <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Linuxarm <linuxarm@...wei.com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Mel Gorman <mgorman@...e.de>, msys.mizuma@...il.com,
        "Zengtao (B)" <prime.zeng@...ilicon.com>,
        "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Barry Song <song.bao.hua@...ilicon.com>,
        Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@....com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>,
        Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@....com>,
        Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>, x86 <x86@...nel.org>,
        yangyicong <yangyicong@...wei.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH RESEND 0/3] Represent cluster topology and enable load
 balance between clusters

On Fri, 2021-10-01 at 16:57 +0200, Peter Zijlstra wrote:
> On Fri, Oct 01, 2021 at 12:39:56PM +0200, Vincent Guittot wrote:
> > Hi Barry,
> > 
> > On Fri, 1 Oct 2021 at 12:32, Barry Song <21cnbao@...il.com> wrote:
> > > Hi Vincent, Dietmar, Peter, Ingo,
> > > Do you have any comment on this first series which exposes
> > > cluster topology
> > > of ARM64 kunpeng 920 & x86 Jacobsville and supports load balance
> > > only for
> > > the 1st stage?
> > > I will be very grateful for your comments so that things can move
> > > forward in the
> > > right direction. I think Tim also looks forward to bringing up
> > > cluster
> > > support in
> > > Jacobsville.
> > 
> > This patchset makes sense to me and the addition of a new
> > scheduling
> > level to better reflect the HW topology goes in the right
> > direction.
> 
> So I had a look, dreading the selecti-idle-sibling changes, and was
> pleasantly surprised they're gone :-)
> 
> As is, this does indeed look like something mergable without too much
> hassle.
> 
> The one questino I have is, do we want default y?

I also agree that default y is preferable.

> 
> The one nit I have is the Kconfig text, I'm not really sure that's
> clarifying what a cluster is.

Do you have a preference of a different name other than cluster?
Or simply better documentation on what a cluster is for ARM64
and x86 in Kconfig?

Thanks.

Tim

Powered by blists - more mailing lists