lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue,  5 Oct 2021 14:14:22 +0200
From:   David Hildenbrand <david@...hat.com>
To:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     David Hildenbrand <david@...hat.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
        Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
        Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@...nel.org>,
        "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@...hat.com>,
        Jason Wang <jasowang@...hat.com>,
        Dave Young <dyoung@...hat.com>, Baoquan He <bhe@...hat.com>,
        Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@...hat.com>,
        Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
        Oscar Salvador <osalvador@...e.de>,
        Mike Rapoport <rppt@...nel.org>,
        "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>, x86@...nel.org,
        xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org,
        virtualization@...ts.linux-foundation.org,
        kexec@...ts.infradead.org, linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-mm@...ck.org, Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrvsky@...cle.com>
Subject: [PATCH v2 1/9] x86/xen: update xen_oldmem_pfn_is_ram() documentation

The callback is only used for the vmcore nowadays.

Reviewed-by: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrvsky@...cle.com>
Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@...hat.com>
---
 arch/x86/xen/mmu_hvm.c | 9 +++------
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/xen/mmu_hvm.c b/arch/x86/xen/mmu_hvm.c
index 57409373750f..b242d1f4b426 100644
--- a/arch/x86/xen/mmu_hvm.c
+++ b/arch/x86/xen/mmu_hvm.c
@@ -9,12 +9,9 @@
 
 #ifdef CONFIG_PROC_VMCORE
 /*
- * This function is used in two contexts:
- * - the kdump kernel has to check whether a pfn of the crashed kernel
- *   was a ballooned page. vmcore is using this function to decide
- *   whether to access a pfn of the crashed kernel.
- * - the kexec kernel has to check whether a pfn was ballooned by the
- *   previous kernel. If the pfn is ballooned, handle it properly.
+ * The kdump kernel has to check whether a pfn of the crashed kernel
+ * was a ballooned page. vmcore is using this function to decide
+ * whether to access a pfn of the crashed kernel.
  * Returns 0 if the pfn is not backed by a RAM page, the caller may
  * handle the pfn special in this case.
  */
-- 
2.31.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists