lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 6 Oct 2021 16:31:02 +0300
From:   Sam Protsenko <semen.protsenko@...aro.org>
To:     Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@...onical.com>
Cc:     Chanwoo Choi <cwchoi00@...il.com>,
        Sylwester Nawrocki <s.nawrocki@...sung.com>,
        PaweĊ‚ Chmiel <pawel.mikolaj.chmiel@...il.com>,
        Chanwoo Choi <cw00.choi@...sung.com>,
        Tomasz Figa <tomasz.figa@...il.com>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...nel.org>,
        Michael Turquette <mturquette@...libre.com>,
        Ryu Euiyoul <ryu.real@...sung.com>,
        Tom Gall <tom.gall@...aro.org>,
        Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@...aro.org>,
        John Stultz <john.stultz@...aro.org>,
        Amit Pundir <amit.pundir@...aro.org>,
        devicetree <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-arm Mailing List <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        linux-clk <linux-clk@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Samsung SOC <linux-samsung-soc@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 4/6] dt-bindings: clock: Add bindings definitions for
 Exynos850 CMU

On Wed, 6 Oct 2021 at 13:49, Krzysztof Kozlowski
<krzysztof.kozlowski@...onical.com> wrote:
>
> On 05/10/2021 12:28, Sam Protsenko wrote:
> > On Wed, 15 Sept 2021 at 19:37, Chanwoo Choi <cwchoi00@...il.com> wrote:
> >>
> >> Hi,
> >>
> >> You don't add clock ids for the all defined clocks in clk-exynos850.c.
> >> I recommend that add all clock ids for the defined clocks if possible.
> >>
> >> If you want to change the parent clock of mux or change the clock rate
> >> of div rate for some clocks, you have to touch the files as following:
> >> - include/dt-bindings/clock/exynos850.h
> >> - drivers/clk/samsung/clk-exynos850.c
> >> - exynos850 dt files
> >>
> >> If you define the clock ids for all clocks added to this patchset,
> >> you can change the parent or rate by just editing the dt files.
> >>
> >
> > Hi Chanwoo,
> >
> > I see your point. But I have intentionally omitted some clock ids,
> > which can't be / shouldn't be used by consumers in device tree.
> > Actually I took that idea from clk-exynos7.c.
> >
> > Krzysztof, Sylwester: can you please advice if all clock ids should be
> > defined, or only those that are going to be used in dts clk consumers?
> > I don't mind reworking the patch, just want to be sure which design
> > approach we want to follow.
> >
>
> I would advise to define all clock IDs, unless the clock really, really
> should not be used. Why do you think several clocks should not be used?
> Have in mind it is not only about consumers but also clock reparenting
> and assigning rates.
>

Thanks! Will be done in v2.

>
> Best regards,
> Krzysztof

Powered by blists - more mailing lists