lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 11 Oct 2021 11:42:05 +0100
From:   Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>
To:     Hans de Goede <hdegoede@...hat.com>
Cc:     "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
        Mark Gross <markgross@...nel.org>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andy@...radead.org>,
        Daniel Scally <djrscally@...il.com>,
        Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@...asonboard.com>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@...nel.org>,
        Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@...il.com>,
        Michael Turquette <mturquette@...libre.com>,
        Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...nel.org>, Len Brown <lenb@...nel.org>,
        linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org, platform-driver-x86@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@...ux.intel.com>,
        Kate Hsuan <hpa@...hat.com>, linux-media@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-clk@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 05/12] regulator: Introduce tps68470-regulator driver

On Fri, Oct 08, 2021 at 06:21:14PM +0200, Hans de Goede wrote:

> +++ b/drivers/regulator/tps68470-regulator.c
> @@ -0,0 +1,194 @@
> +// SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0
> +/*
> + * Regulator driver for TPS68470 PMIC
> + *

Please make the entire comment a C++ one so things look more
intentional.

> +
> +/*
> + * The ACPI tps68470 probe-ordering depends on the clk/gpio/regulator drivers
> + * being registered before the MFD cells are created (the MFD driver calls
> + * acpi_dev_clear_dependencies() after the cell creation).
> + * subsys_initcall() ensures this when the drivers are builtin.
> + */
> +static int __init tps68470_regulator_init(void)
> +{
> +	return platform_driver_register(&tps68470_regulator_driver);
> +}
> +subsys_initcall(tps68470_regulator_init);

If this is actually required then the driver is broken for modular use
which frankly is just generally broken.  I don't understand why this
driver would require this when other drivers don't, or what the actual
requirement is here - what does the call do and why is the ordering
important?

Download attachment "signature.asc" of type "application/pgp-signature" (489 bytes)

Powered by blists - more mailing lists