lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 15 Oct 2021 10:05:56 +0800
From:   Yafang Shao <laoar.shao@...il.com>
To:     Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Cc:     Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>,
        acme <acme@...nel.org>, rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        kernel test robot <oliver.sang@...el.com>,
        0day robot <lkp@...el.com>, Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        linux-kernel <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        lkp <lkp@...ts.01.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@....com>,
        Qiang Zhang <qiang.zhang@...driver.com>,
        robdclark <robdclark@...omium.org>,
        christian <christian@...uner.io>,
        Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@....com>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@...hat.com>,
        Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@...aro.org>,
        Ben Segall <bsegall@...gle.com>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@...e.de>,
        bristot <bristot@...hat.com>,
        aubrey li <aubrey.li@...ux.intel.com>,
        yu c chen <yu.c.chen@...el.com>
Subject: Re: [sched.h] 317419b91e: perf-sanity-tests.Parse_sched_tracepoints_fields.fail

On Fri, Oct 15, 2021 at 12:14 AM Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org> wrote:
>
> On Thu, Oct 14, 2021 at 10:40:04PM +0800, Yafang Shao wrote:
> > On Thu, Oct 14, 2021 at 9:50 PM Mathieu Desnoyers
> > <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com> wrote:
> > >
> > > ----- On Oct 14, 2021, at 9:11 AM, Yafang Shao laoar.shao@...il.com wrote:
> > >
> > > > On Thu, Oct 14, 2021 at 9:09 PM Mathieu Desnoyers
> > > > <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com> wrote:
> > > >>
> > > >> ----- On Oct 14, 2021, at 9:05 AM, Yafang Shao laoar.shao@...il.com wrote:
> > > >> [...]
> > > >> >> If it happens that this ABI break is noticed by more than an in-tree test
> > > >> >> program, then
> > > >> >> the kernel's ABI rules will require that this trace field size stays unchanged.
> > > >> >> This brings
> > > >> >> up once more the whole topic of "Tracepoints ABI" which has been discussed
> > > >> >> repeatedly in
> > > >> >> the past.
> > > >> >>
> > > >> >
> > > >> > I will check if any other in-tree tools depends on TASK_COMM_LEN.
> > > >>
> > > >> That's a start, but given this is a userspace ABI, out-of-tree userland
> > > >> tools which depend of this to be fixed-size are also relevant.
> > > >>
> > > >
> > > > TASK_COMM_LEN isn't defined in include/uapi/ directory, so it seems
> > > > that it isn't the uerspace ABI?
> > >
> > > One case where this 16 bytes size is expected by userspace is prctl(2) PR_GET_NAME
> > > and PR_SET_NAME.
> > >
> >
> > the prctl(2) man page says that:
> > : PR_SET_NAME
> > :        If the length of the string, including the terminating
> > :        null byte, exceeds 16 bytes, the string is silently truncated.
> > : PR_GET_NAME
> > :         The buffer should allow space for up to 16 bytes
> > :          the returned string will be null-terminated.
> >
> > As the string returned to user space is null-terminated, extending
> > task comm won't break the prctl(2) user code.
>
> If userspace was:
>
>         char comm[16];
>         int important_values;
>
>         ...
>
>         prctl(PR_GET_NAME, pid, comm);
>
> the kernel will clobber "important_values", so prctl() must enforce the
> old size (and terminate it correctly). It's not okay for us to expect
> that userspace get recompiled -- old binaries must continue to work
> correctly on kernel kernels.
>
>         case PR_GET_NAME:
>                 get_task_comm(comm, me);
>                 if (copy_to_user((char __user *)arg2, comm, sizeof(comm)))
>                         return -EFAULT;
>                 break;
>
> This looks like it needs to be explicitly NUL terminated at 16 as well.
>

Right. After replacing strncpy with strscpy_pad() in
__get_task_comm(), the string will be NUL terminated.

> I'd say we need a TASK_COMM_LEN_V1 to use in all the old hard-coded
> places.
>

Sure, it will be easy to grep then.

> >
> > > The other case I am referring to is with ftrace and perf:
> > >
> > > mount -t tracefs nodev /sys/kernel/tracing
> > > cat /sys/kernel/tracing/events/sched/sched_switch/format
> > >
> > > name: sched_switch
> > > ID: 314
> > > format:
> > > [...]
> > >         field:char prev_comm[16];       offset:8;       size:16;        signed:1;
> > > [...]
> > >         field:char next_comm[16];       offset:40;      size:16;        signed:1;
> > >
> > > Both of those fields expose a fixed-size of 16 bytes.
> > >
> > > AFAIK Steven's intent was that by parsing this file, trace viewers could adapt to
> > > changes in the event field layout. Unfortunately, there have been cases where
> > > trace viewers had a hard expectation on the field layout. Hopefully those have
> > > all been fixed a while ago.
> > >
> >
> > I don't have a clear idea what will happen to trace viewers if we
> > extend task comm.
> >
> > Steven, do you have any suggestions ?
> >
> > --
> > Thanks
> > Yafang
>
> --
> Kees Cook



-- 
Thanks
Yafang

Powered by blists - more mailing lists