lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 25 Oct 2023 15:44:25 +0200
From:   Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>
To:     Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>
Cc:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, x86@...nel.org,
        virtualization@...ts.linux-foundation.org, kvm@...r.kernel.org,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, Ajay Kaher <akaher@...are.com>,
        Alexey Makhalov <amakhalov@...are.com>,
        VMware PV-Drivers Reviewers <pv-drivers@...are.com>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Wanpeng Li <wanpengli@...cent.com>,
        Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@...hat.com>,
        Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
        xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 1/5] x86/paravirt: move some functions and defines to
 alternative

On Wed, Oct 25, 2023 at 03:31:07PM +0200, Juergen Gross wrote:
> There is
> 
> #define nop() asm volatile ("nop")
> 
> in arch/x86/include/asm/special_insns.h already.

Then call it "nop_func" or so.

> It might not be needed now, but are you sure we won't need it in future?

No, I'm not.

What I'm sure of is: stuff should be added to the kernel only when
really needed. Not in the expectation that it might potentially be
needed at some point.

Thx.

-- 
Regards/Gruss,
    Boris.

https://people.kernel.org/tglx/notes-about-netiquette

Powered by blists - more mailing lists