lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Fri, 04 May 2012 14:01:42 -0700
From:	Rick Jones <rick.jones2@...com>
To:	Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@...il.com>
CC:	David Miller <davem@...emloft.net>,
	netdev <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
	Perry Lorier <perryl@...gle.com>,
	Matt Mathis <mattmathis@...gle.com>,
	Yuchung Cheng <ycheng@...gle.com>,
	Neal Cardwell <ncardwell@...gle.com>,
	Tom Herbert <therbert@...gle.com>,
	Wilmer van der Gaast <wilmer@...gle.com>,
	Dave Täht <dave.taht@...ferbloat.net>,
	Ankur Jain <jankur@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next] tcp: be more strict before accepting ECN negociation

>
> Interesting indeed ;)
>
> Did you check if it was spoofed ?
>
> (did the 3WHS really completed)


Well, the tcpdump command was still:


tcpdump -i eth0 -vvv '(tcp[tcpflags]&  tcp-syn != 0)&&  (ip[1] != 0x0)'

I didn't see any SYN|ACKs go out, but netperf.org would have had to set 
ECT for me to see a SYN|ACK going out.   FWIW, this is on a 2.6.31-15 
(Ubuntu) kernel with net.ipv4.tcp_ecn = 2 and I don't think the SYNs 
themselves were negotiating ECN:

13:26:16.866007 IP (tos 0x3,CE, ttl 41, id 28850, offset 0, flags [DF], 
proto TCP (6), length 64)
     somesystemin.de.55363 > www.netperf.org.www: Flags [S], cksum 
0x4cfc (correct), seq 304457158, win 65535, options [mss 1460,nop,wscale

rick
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe netdev" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html

Powered by blists - more mailing lists