lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Tue, 12 Aug 2014 15:28:26 -0700
From:	"Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...not-panic.com>
To:	gregkh@...uxfoundation.org
Cc:	tiwai@...e.de, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	"Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...e.com>,
	Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@...ove.SAKURA.ne.jp>,
	Joseph Salisbury <joseph.salisbury@...onical.com>,
	One Thousand Gnomes <gnomes@...rguk.ukuu.org.uk>,
	Tim Gardner <tim.gardner@...onical.com>,
	Pierre Fersing <pierre-fersing@...rref.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Oleg Nesterov <oleg@...hat.com>,
	Benjamin Poirier <bpoirier@...e.de>,
	Nagalakshmi Nandigama <nagalakshmi.nandigama@...gotech.com>,
	Praveen Krishnamoorthy <praveen.krishnamoorthy@...gotech.com>,
	Sreekanth Reddy <sreekanth.reddy@...gotech.com>,
	Abhijit Mahajan <abhijit.mahajan@...gotech.com>,
	Hariprasad S <hariprasad@...lsio.com>,
	Santosh Rastapur <santosh@...lsio.com>,
	MPT-FusionLinux.pdl@...gotech.com, linux-scsi@...r.kernel.org,
	netdev@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH v3 2/3] cxgb4: use module_long_probe_init()

From: "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...e.com>

cxgb4 probe can take up to over 1 minute when the firmware is
is written and installed on the device, even after this the device
driver still does some device probing and can take quite a bit.
This driver needs fixing but right now it simply wont' work on
some systems. Use the new module_long_probe_init() to annotate
this driver's probe is broken and require some love, but makes
the driver operational until that is fixed.

Cc: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@...ove.SAKURA.ne.jp>
Cc: Joseph Salisbury <joseph.salisbury@...onical.com>
Cc: One Thousand Gnomes <gnomes@...rguk.ukuu.org.uk>
Cc: Tim Gardner <tim.gardner@...onical.com>
Cc: Pierre Fersing <pierre-fersing@...rref.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@...hat.com>
Cc: Benjamin Poirier <bpoirier@...e.de>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>
Cc: Nagalakshmi Nandigama <nagalakshmi.nandigama@...gotech.com>
Cc: Praveen Krishnamoorthy <praveen.krishnamoorthy@...gotech.com>
Cc: Sreekanth Reddy <sreekanth.reddy@...gotech.com>
Cc: Abhijit Mahajan <abhijit.mahajan@...gotech.com>
Cc: Hariprasad S <hariprasad@...lsio.com>
Cc: Santosh Rastapur <santosh@...lsio.com>
Cc: MPT-FusionLinux.pdl@...gotech.com
Cc: linux-scsi@...r.kernel.org
Cc: linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc: netdev@...r.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Luis R. Rodriguez <mcgrof@...e.com>
---
 drivers/net/ethernet/chelsio/cxgb4/cxgb4_main.c | 5 +++--
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/chelsio/cxgb4/cxgb4_main.c b/drivers/net/ethernet/chelsio/cxgb4/cxgb4_main.c
index 36ebbda..5d8231d 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/chelsio/cxgb4/cxgb4_main.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/chelsio/cxgb4/cxgb4_main.c
@@ -34,6 +34,7 @@
 
 #define pr_fmt(fmt) KBUILD_MODNAME ": " fmt
 
+#include <linux/kthread.h>
 #include <linux/bitmap.h>
 #include <linux/crc32.h>
 #include <linux/ctype.h>
@@ -6815,5 +6816,5 @@ static void __exit cxgb4_cleanup_module(void)
 	destroy_workqueue(workq);
 }
 
-module_init(cxgb4_init_module);
-module_exit(cxgb4_cleanup_module);
+module_long_probe_init(cxgb4_init_module);
+module_long_probe_exit(cxgb4_cleanup_module);
-- 
2.0.3

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe netdev" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html

Powered by blists - more mailing lists