lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Sun, 16 Nov 2014 22:58:41 -0800
From:	Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@...il.com>
To:	Andi Kleen <andi@...stfloor.org>
Cc:	Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
	Thomas Lendacky <Thomas.Lendacky@....com>,
	Ariel Elior <ariel.elior@...gic.com>,
	Michael Chan <mchan@...adcom.com>,
	Prashant Sreedharan <prashant@...adcom.com>,
	Rasesh Mody <rasesh.mody@...gic.com>,
	Sathya Perla <sathya.perla@...lex.com>,
	Subbu Seetharaman <subbu.seetharaman@...lex.com>,
	Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde@...lex.com>,
	Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@...el.com>,
	Jeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@...el.com>,
	Amir Vadai <amirv@...lanox.com>,
	Shradha Shah <sshah@...arflare.com>,
	Shreyas Bhatewara <sbhatewara@...are.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next 01/14] net: provide a per host RSS key generic
 infrastructure

On Sun, 2014-11-16 at 22:46 -0800, Andi Kleen wrote:

> Wouldn't it be better to have some kernel facility to query on what
> port a given mapping would end up rather than exporting
> the key? Similar to querying the rounting table.
> That would be more abstract.

It is already there, few drivers implement

ethtool -x eth0

And all users can read rss key :

$ ethtool -x eth0
RX flow hash indirection table for eth0 with 8 RX ring(s):
    0:      0     1     2     3     4     5     6     7
RSS hash key:
d9:73:69:1e:c5:74:73:38:67:a4:a9:98:78:b1:e2:b6:39:1c:02:f9:30:57:79:84:02:b7:48:90:63:95:10:85:51:bb:f2:9e:f2:c5:85:27

> 
> > +	{
> > +		.procname	= "netdev_rss_key",
> > +		.data		= &netdev_rss_key,
> > +		.maxlen		= sizeof(int),
> > +		.mode		= 0444,
> 
> Surely 0400 ? After all it's a kind a "secret"

Not really. Toeplitz is not cryptographic. A local program can easily
rebuild the key even if kept 'secret' by networking stack.



--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe netdev" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html

Powered by blists - more mailing lists