lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Fri, 20 Nov 2015 16:21:24 +0000
From:	Rainer Weikusat <rweikusat@...ileactivedefense.com>
To:	Jason Baron <jbaron@...mai.com>
Cc:	Rainer Weikusat <rweikusat@...ileactivedefense.com>,
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
	syzkaller <syzkaller@...glegroups.com>,
	Michal Kubecek <mkubecek@...e.cz>,
	Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
	"linux-fsdevel\@vger.kernel.org" <linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	David Miller <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Hannes Frederic Sowa <hannes@...essinduktion.org>,
	David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
	Paul Moore <paul@...l-moore.com>, salyzyn@...roid.com,
	sds@...ho.nsa.gov, ying.xue@...driver.com,
	netdev <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
	Kostya Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>,
	Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>,
	Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>,
	Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@...cle.com>,
	Julien Tinnes <jln@...gle.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...gle.com>,
	Mathias Krause <minipli@...glemail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] unix: avoid use-after-free in ep_remove_wait_queue (w/ Fixes:)

Jason Baron <jbaron@...mai.com> writes:
> On 11/19/2015 06:52 PM, Rainer Weikusat wrote:
>
> [...]
>
>> @@ -1590,21 +1718,35 @@ restart:
>>  			goto out_unlock;
>>  	}
>>  
>> -	if (unix_peer(other) != sk && unix_recvq_full(other)) {
>> -		if (!timeo) {
>> +	if (unlikely(unix_peer(other) != sk && unix_recvq_full(other))) {
>> +		if (timeo) {
>> +			timeo = unix_wait_for_peer(other, timeo);
>> +
>> +			err = sock_intr_errno(timeo);
>> +			if (signal_pending(current))
>> +				goto out_free;
>> +
>> +			goto restart;
>> +		}
>> +
>> +		if (unix_peer(sk) != other ||
>> +		    unix_dgram_peer_wake_me(sk, other)) {
>>  			err = -EAGAIN;
>>  			goto out_unlock;
>>  		}
>
> Hi,
>
> So here we are calling unix_dgram_peer_wake_me() without the sk lock the first time
> through - right?

Yes. And this is obviously wrong. I spend most of the 'evening time'
(some people would call that 'night time') with testing this and didn't
get to read through it again yet. Thank you for pointing this out. I'll
send an updated patch shortly.
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe netdev" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html

Powered by blists - more mailing lists