lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Wed, 03 Feb 2016 11:23:46 -0800
From:	Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@...il.com>
To:	Alexander Duyck <alexander.duyck@...il.com>
Cc:	Hans Westgaard Ry <hans.westgaard.ry@...cle.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Alexey Kuznetsov <kuznet@....inr.ac.ru>,
	James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>,
	Hideaki YOSHIFUJI <yoshfuji@...ux-ipv6.org>,
	Patrick McHardy <kaber@...sh.net>,
	Tom Herbert <tom@...bertland.com>,
	Pablo Neira Ayuso <pablo@...filter.org>,
	Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
	Florian Westphal <fw@...len.de>, Jiri Pirko <jiri@...nulli.us>,
	Alexander Duyck <alexander.h.duyck@...hat.com>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
	Linus Lüssing <linus.luessing@...3.blue>,
	Hannes Frederic Sowa <hannes@...essinduktion.org>,
	Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Alexey Kodanev <alexey.kodanev@...cle.com>,
	Håkon Bugge <haakon.bugge@...cle.com>,
	open list <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	"open list:NETWORKING [GENERAL]" <netdev@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3] net:Add sysctl_max_skb_frags

On Wed, 2016-02-03 at 10:24 -0800, Alexander Duyck wrote:

> If this is only meant to be a performance modification and is only
> really targeted at TCP TSO/GRO then all I ask is that we use a name
> like tcp_max_gso_frags and relocate the sysctl to the TCP section.
> Otherwise if we are actually going to try to scope this out on a wider
> level and limit all frags which is what the name implies then the
> patch set needs to make a better attempt at covering all cases where
> it may apply.


This is the goal.

Other skb providers (like tun and af_packet) will also use this optional
limit.

I fail to see why Hans should send a complete patch series.

We will send followup patches, as we always did.

I will send the GRO change for example.

So please keep a sysctl name _without_ TCP in it, it really has nothing
to do with TCP.




Powered by blists - more mailing lists