lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 17 Jan 2019 13:27:51 +0000
From:   Fabrizio Castro <fabrizio.castro@...renesas.com>
To:     Simon Horman <horms@...ge.net.au>
CC:     Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Wolfgang Grandegger <wg@...ndegger.com>,
        Marc Kleine-Budde <mkl@...gutronix.de>,
        Michael Turquette <mturquette@...libre.com>,
        Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...nel.org>,
        Biju Das <biju.das@...renesas.com>,
        Magnus Damm <magnus.damm@...il.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@...der.be>,
        Thierry Reding <treding@...dia.com>,
        Andreas Färber <afaerber@...e.de>,
        Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@...tlin.com>,
        Kevin Hilman <khilman@...libre.com>,
        Johan Hovold <johan@...nel.org>,
        Lukasz Majewski <lukma@...x.de>,
        Michal Simek <monstr@...str.eu>,
        Michal Vokáč <michal.vokac@...ft.com>,
        Martin Blumenstingl <martin.blumenstingl@...glemail.com>,
        Ben Whitten <ben.whitten@...il.com>,
        Chris Paterson <Chris.Paterson2@...esas.com>,
        "linux-renesas-soc@...r.kernel.org" 
        <linux-renesas-soc@...r.kernel.org>,
        "devicetree@...r.kernel.org" <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-can@...r.kernel.org" <linux-can@...r.kernel.org>,
        "netdev@...r.kernel.org" <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-clk@...r.kernel.org" <linux-clk@...r.kernel.org>,
        "ebiharaml@...linux.co.jp" <ebiharaml@...linux.co.jp>
Subject: RE: [PATCH 07/11] arm64: dts: renesas: cat875: Add ethernet support

Hello Simon,

Thank you for your feedback!

> From: Simon Horman <horms@...ge.net.au>
> Sent: 17 January 2019 12:00
> Subject: Re: [PATCH 07/11] arm64: dts: renesas: cat875: Add ethernet support
>
> On Wed, Jan 16, 2019 at 06:37:50PM +0000, Fabrizio Castro wrote:
> > From: Biju Das <biju.das@...renesas.com>
> >
> > This patch adds ethernet support to the sub board.
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Biju Das <biju.das@...renesas.com>
> > Signed-off-by: Fabrizio Castro <fabrizio.castro@...renesas.com>
> > Reviewed-by: Chris Paterson <Chris.Paterson2@...esas.com>
> > ---
> >  arch/arm64/boot/dts/renesas/cat875.dtsi | 30 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
> >  1 file changed, 30 insertions(+)
> >
> > diff --git a/arch/arm64/boot/dts/renesas/cat875.dtsi b/arch/arm64/boot/dts/renesas/cat875.dtsi
> > index a41d0d8..805ffa7 100644
> > --- a/arch/arm64/boot/dts/renesas/cat875.dtsi
> > +++ b/arch/arm64/boot/dts/renesas/cat875.dtsi
> > @@ -7,4 +7,34 @@
> >
> >  / {
> >  model = "Silicon Linux sub board for CAT874 (CAT875)";
> > +
> > +aliases {
> > +ethernet0 = &avb;
> > +};
> > +};
> > +
> > +&avb {
> > +pinctrl-0 = <&avb_pins>;
> > +pinctrl-names = "default";
> > +renesas,no-ether-link;
>
> Is the renesas,no-ether-link required?

The AVB_LINK pin from the SoC is connected to the PMEB (Power Management Event, B stands for
active low) pin on the  PHY, which means it is not a link signal. The PMEB signal is active when a magic
packet or a wake up frame are detected. As a result, we need renesas,no-ether-link and we can't
specify avb_link with avb_pin either.

Thanks,
Fab

>
> My understanding is that "the property should only be used when a
> board does not provide a proper AVB_LINK signal". And from my reading
> of the schematic it looks like that signal may be provided on this board.
>
> That said, I have an outstanding patch for this for E3/Ebisu which
> I have not applied because I am unsure of its correctness.
>
> [PATCH] arm64: dts: renesas: ebisu: Remove renesas, no-ether-link property
> https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/10692755/
>
> Similar patches have been applied for other boards.
> f.e:
>
> [PATCH] arm64: dts: renesas: salvator-x: Remove renesas, no-ether-link property
> https://git.kernel.org/torvalds/c/87c059e9c39d
>
> > +phy-handle = <&phy0>;
> > +phy-mode = "rgmii";
> > +status = "okay";
> > +
> > +phy0: ethernet-phy@0 {
> > +rxc-skew-ps = <1500>;
> > +reg = <0>;
> > +interrupt-parent = <&gpio2>;
> > +interrupts = <21 IRQ_TYPE_LEVEL_LOW>;
> > +reset-gpios = <&gpio1 20 GPIO_ACTIVE_LOW>;
> > +};
> > +};
> > +
> > +&pfc {
> > +avb_pins: avb {
> > +mux {
> > +groups = "avb_mii";
> > +function = "avb";
> > +};
> > +};
> >  };
> > --
> > 2.7.4
> >



Renesas Electronics Europe Ltd, Dukes Meadow, Millboard Road, Bourne End, Buckinghamshire, SL8 5FH, UK. Registered in England & Wales under Registered No. 04586709.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists