lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sun, 7 Apr 2019 13:31:37 -0700
From:   Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>
To:     Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        David Miller <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Ray Jui <rjui@...adcom.com>,
        Scott Branden <sbranden@...adcom.com>,
        Richard Cochran <richardcochran@...il.com>,
        Kevin Hilman <khilman@...libre.com>,
        Heiko Stuebner <heiko@...ech.de>
Cc:     bcm-kernel-feedback-list@...adcom.com, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-amlogic@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-rockchip@...ts.infradead.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next] net: phy: switch drivers to use dynamic feature
 detection



On 4/7/2019 2:57 AM, Heiner Kallweit wrote:
> Recently genphy_read_abilities() has been added that dynamically detects
> clause 22 PHY abilities. I *think* this detection should work with all
> supported PHY's, at least for the ones with basic features sets, i.e.
> PHY_BASIC_FEATURES and PHY_GBIT_FEATURES. So let's remove setting these
> features explicitly and rely on phylib feature detection.
> 
> I don't have access to most of these PHY's, therefore I'd appreciate
> regression testing.

The nice thing about the features is that we can right away tell which
PHY entries are Fast Ethernet/Gigabit etc... so if you remove that
assignment, we would need at least a standardized comment allowing us to
quickly grep for that information.
-- 
Florian

Powered by blists - more mailing lists