lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 14 Jan 2020 17:22:39 +0800
From:   Kai-Heng Feng <kai.heng.feng@...onical.com>
To:     Oliver Neukum <oneukum@...e.com>
Cc:     David Miller <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Hayes Wang <hayeswang@...ltek.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <jakub.kicinski@...ronome.com>,
        Prashant Malani <pmalani@...omium.org>,
        Grant Grundler <grundler@...omium.org>,
        Mario Limonciello <mario.limonciello@...l.com>,
        David Chen <david.chen7@...l.com>,
        "open list:USB NETWORKING DRIVERS" <linux-usb@...r.kernel.org>,
        "open list:NETWORKING DRIVERS" <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        open list <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] r8152: Add MAC passthrough support to new device



> On Jan 14, 2020, at 16:23, Oliver Neukum <oneukum@...e.com> wrote:
> 
> Am Dienstag, den 14.01.2020, 12:41 +0800 schrieb Kai-Heng Feng:
>> Device 0xa387 also supports MAC passthrough, therefore add it to the
>> whitelst.
> 
> Hi,
> 
> this list is getting longer and longer. Isn't there a way to do
> this generically? ACPI?

ACPI only provides the MAC address, to write the MAC to r8152 it still requires hardware support.
So we need to use whitelist here, not all r8152 support this feature.

Kai-Heng

> 
> 	Regards
> 		Oliver
> 

Powered by blists - more mailing lists