lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 15 Jan 2020 16:21:05 +0100
From:   Jesper Dangaard Brouer <brouer@...hat.com>
To:     Toke Høiland-Jørgensen <toke@...hat.com>
Cc:     Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@...com>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>, Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@...com>,
        Doug Ledford <dledford@...hat.com>,
        Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@...pe.ca>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <jakub.kicinski@...ronome.com>,
        John Fastabend <john.fastabend@...il.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        bpf@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-rdma@...r.kernel.org, linux-kselftest@...r.kernel.org,
        clang-built-linux@...glegroups.com, brouer@...hat.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH bpf-next v2 01/10] samples/bpf: Don't try to remove
 user's homedir on clean

On Wed, 15 Jan 2020 15:12:49 +0100
Toke Høiland-Jørgensen <toke@...hat.com> wrote:

> From: Toke Høiland-Jørgensen <toke@...hat.com>
> 
> The 'clean' rule in the samples/bpf Makefile tries to remove backup
> files (ending in ~). However, if no such files exist, it will instead try
> to remove the user's home directory. While the attempt is mostly harmless,
> it does lead to a somewhat scary warning like this:
> 
> rm: cannot remove '~': Is a directory
> 
> Fix this by using find instead of shell expansion to locate any actual
> backup files that need to be removed.
> 
> Fixes: b62a796c109c ("samples/bpf: allow make to be run from samples/bpf/ directory")
> Signed-off-by: Toke Høiland-Jørgensen <toke@...hat.com>

Kind of scary make clean command!

Acked-by: Jesper Dangaard Brouer <brouer@...hat.com>


> ---
>  samples/bpf/Makefile |    2 +-
>  1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
> 
> diff --git a/samples/bpf/Makefile b/samples/bpf/Makefile
> index 5b89c0370f33..f86d713a17a5 100644
> --- a/samples/bpf/Makefile
> +++ b/samples/bpf/Makefile
> @@ -254,7 +254,7 @@ all:
>  
>  clean:
>  	$(MAKE) -C ../../ M=$(CURDIR) clean
> -	@rm -f *~
> +	@find $(CURDIR) -type f -name '*~' -delete


-- 
Best regards,
  Jesper Dangaard Brouer
  MSc.CS, Principal Kernel Engineer at Red Hat
  LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/brouer

Powered by blists - more mailing lists