lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 27 Apr 2020 18:54:07 +0530
From:   Calvin Johnson <calvin.johnson@....nxp.com>
To:     linux.cj@...il.com, Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@....com>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@...il.com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Russell King - ARM Linux admin <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Cristi Sovaiala <cristian.sovaiala@....com>,
        Florin Laurentiu Chiculita <florinlaurentiu.chiculita@....com>,
        Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@....com>,
        Madalin Bucur <madalin.bucur@....nxp.com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@...ux.intel.com>
Cc:     linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        Diana Madalina Craciun <diana.craciun@....com>,
        Laurentiu Tudor <laurentiu.tudor@....com>,
        linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org, Marcin Wojtas <mw@...ihalf.com>,
        Makarand Pawagi <makarand.pawagi@....com>,
        "Rajesh V . Bikkina" <rajesh.bikkina@....com>,
        Varun Sethi <V.Sethi@....com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Pankaj Bansal <pankaj.bansal@....com>,
        Calvin Johnson <calvin.johnson@....nxp.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>
Subject: [net-next PATCH v2 1/3] device property: Introduce phy related fwnode functions

Define fwnode_phy_find_device() to iterate an mdiobus and find the
phy device of the provided phy fwnode. Additionally define
device_phy_find_device() to find phy device of provided device.

Define fwnode_get_phy_node() to get phy_node using named reference.

Signed-off-by: Calvin Johnson <calvin.johnson@....nxp.com>
---

Changes in v2:
  move phy code from base/property.c to net/phy/phy_device.c
  replace acpi & of code to get phy-handle with fwnode_find_reference

 drivers/net/phy/phy_device.c | 55 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 include/linux/phy.h          |  3 ++
 2 files changed, 58 insertions(+)

diff --git a/drivers/net/phy/phy_device.c b/drivers/net/phy/phy_device.c
index 7e1ddd5745d2..a2f3dbba8a3c 100644
--- a/drivers/net/phy/phy_device.c
+++ b/drivers/net/phy/phy_device.c
@@ -31,6 +31,7 @@
 #include <linux/mdio.h>
 #include <linux/io.h>
 #include <linux/uaccess.h>
+#include <linux/property.h>
 
 MODULE_DESCRIPTION("PHY library");
 MODULE_AUTHOR("Andy Fleming");
@@ -2436,6 +2437,60 @@ static bool phy_drv_supports_irq(struct phy_driver *phydrv)
 	return phydrv->config_intr && phydrv->ack_interrupt;
 }
 
+/**
+ * fwnode_phy_find_device - Find phy_device on the mdiobus for the provided
+ * phy_fwnode.
+ * @phy_fwnode: Pointer to the phy's fwnode.
+ *
+ * If successful, returns a pointer to the phy_device with the embedded
+ * struct device refcount incremented by one, or NULL on failure.
+ */
+struct phy_device *fwnode_phy_find_device(struct fwnode_handle *phy_fwnode)
+{
+	struct device *d;
+	struct mdio_device *mdiodev;
+
+	if (!phy_fwnode)
+		return NULL;
+
+	d = bus_find_device_by_fwnode(&mdio_bus_type, phy_fwnode);
+	if (d) {
+		mdiodev = to_mdio_device(d);
+		if (mdiodev->flags & MDIO_DEVICE_FLAG_PHY)
+			return to_phy_device(d);
+		put_device(d);
+	}
+
+	return NULL;
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(fwnode_phy_find_device);
+
+/**
+ * device_phy_find_device - For the given device, get the phy_device
+ * @dev: Pointer to the given device
+ *
+ * If successful, returns a pointer to the phy_device with the embedded
+ * struct device refcount incremented by one, or NULL on failure.
+ */
+struct phy_device *device_phy_find_device(struct device *dev)
+{
+	return fwnode_phy_find_device(dev_fwnode(dev));
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(device_phy_find_device);
+
+/**
+ * fwnode_get_phy_node - Get the phy_node using the named reference.
+ * @fwnode: Pointer to fwnode from which phy_node has to be obtained.
+ *
+ * Returns pointer to the phy fwnode, or ERR_PTR. Caller is responsible to
+ * call fwnode_handle_put() on the returned phy fwnode pointer.
+ */
+struct fwnode_handle *fwnode_get_phy_node(struct fwnode_handle *fwnode)
+{
+	return fwnode_find_reference(fwnode, "phy-handle", 0);
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(fwnode_get_phy_node);
+
 /**
  * phy_probe - probe and init a PHY device
  * @dev: device to probe and init
diff --git a/include/linux/phy.h b/include/linux/phy.h
index e2bfb9240587..f0450ef2dc9b 100644
--- a/include/linux/phy.h
+++ b/include/linux/phy.h
@@ -1328,6 +1328,9 @@ void phy_set_asym_pause(struct phy_device *phydev, bool rx, bool tx);
 bool phy_validate_pause(struct phy_device *phydev,
 			struct ethtool_pauseparam *pp);
 void phy_get_pause(struct phy_device *phydev, bool *tx_pause, bool *rx_pause);
+struct phy_device *fwnode_phy_find_device(struct fwnode_handle *phy_fwnode);
+struct phy_device *device_phy_find_device(struct device *dev);
+struct fwnode_handle *fwnode_get_phy_node(struct fwnode_handle *fwnode);
 void phy_resolve_pause(unsigned long *local_adv, unsigned long *partner_adv,
 		       bool *tx_pause, bool *rx_pause);
 
-- 
2.17.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists