lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 27 Apr 2020 18:54:09 +0530
From:   Calvin Johnson <calvin.johnson@....nxp.com>
To:     linux.cj@...il.com, Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@....com>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@...il.com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Russell King - ARM Linux admin <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Cristi Sovaiala <cristian.sovaiala@....com>,
        Florin Laurentiu Chiculita <florinlaurentiu.chiculita@....com>,
        Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@....com>,
        Madalin Bucur <madalin.bucur@....nxp.com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@...ux.intel.com>
Cc:     linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        Diana Madalina Craciun <diana.craciun@....com>,
        Laurentiu Tudor <laurentiu.tudor@....com>,
        linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org, Marcin Wojtas <mw@...ihalf.com>,
        Makarand Pawagi <makarand.pawagi@....com>,
        "Rajesh V . Bikkina" <rajesh.bikkina@....com>,
        Varun Sethi <V.Sethi@....com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Pankaj Bansal <pankaj.bansal@....com>,
        Calvin Johnson <calvin.johnson@....nxp.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>
Subject: [net-next PATCH v2 3/3] phylink: Introduce phylink_fwnode_phy_connect()

Define phylink_fwnode_phy_connect() to connect phy specified by
a fwnode to a phylink instance. Additionally,
phylink_device_phy_connect() is defined to connect phy specified
by a device to a phylink instance.

Signed-off-by: Calvin Johnson <calvin.johnson@....nxp.com>
---

Changes in v2:
  replace of_ and acpi_ code with generic fwnode to get phy-handle.

 drivers/net/phy/phylink.c | 68 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 include/linux/phylink.h   |  6 ++++
 2 files changed, 74 insertions(+)

diff --git a/drivers/net/phy/phylink.c b/drivers/net/phy/phylink.c
index 0f23bec431c1..5eab1eadded7 100644
--- a/drivers/net/phy/phylink.c
+++ b/drivers/net/phy/phylink.c
@@ -961,6 +961,74 @@ int phylink_connect_phy(struct phylink *pl, struct phy_device *phy)
 }
 EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(phylink_connect_phy);
 
+/**
+ * phylink_fwnode_phy_connect() - connect the PHY specified in the fwnode.
+ * @pl: a pointer to a &struct phylink returned from phylink_create()
+ * @fwnode: a pointer to a &struct fwnode_handle.
+ * @flags: PHY-specific flags to communicate to the PHY device driver
+ *
+ * Connect the phy specified @fwnode to the phylink instance specified
+ * by @pl. Actions specified in phylink_connect_phy() will be
+ * performed.
+ *
+ * Returns 0 on success or a negative errno.
+ */
+int phylink_fwnode_phy_connect(struct phylink *pl,
+			       struct fwnode_handle *fwnode,
+			       u32 flags)
+{
+	struct fwnode_handle *phy_fwnode;
+	struct phy_device *phy_dev;
+	int ret = 0;
+
+	/* Fixed links and 802.3z are handled without needing a PHY */
+	if (pl->cfg_link_an_mode == MLO_AN_FIXED ||
+	    (pl->cfg_link_an_mode == MLO_AN_INBAND &&
+	     phy_interface_mode_is_8023z(pl->link_interface)))
+		return 0;
+
+	phy_fwnode = fwnode_get_phy_node(fwnode);
+	if ((IS_ERR_OR_NULL(phy_fwnode)) && (pl->cfg_link_an_mode == MLO_AN_PHY))
+		return -ENODEV;
+
+	phy_dev = fwnode_phy_find_device(phy_fwnode);
+	fwnode_handle_put(phy_fwnode);
+	if (!phy_dev)
+		return -ENODEV;
+
+	ret = phy_attach_direct(pl->netdev, phy_dev, flags,
+				pl->link_interface);
+	if (ret)
+		return ret;
+
+	ret = phylink_bringup_phy(pl, phy_dev, pl->link_config.interface);
+	if (ret)
+		phy_detach(phy_dev);
+
+	return ret;
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(phylink_fwnode_phy_connect);
+
+/**
+ * phylink_device_phy_connect() - connect the PHY specified by the device.
+ * @pl: a pointer to a &struct phylink returned from phylink_create()
+ * @dev: a pointer to a &struct device.
+ * @flags: PHY-specific flags to communicate to the PHY device driver
+ *
+ * Connect the phy specified by the device to the phylink instance specified
+ * by @pl. Actions specified in phylink_connect_phy() will be
+ * performed.
+ *
+ * Returns 0 on success or a negative errno.
+ */
+int phylink_device_phy_connect(struct phylink *pl,
+			       struct device *dev,
+			       u32 flags)
+{
+	return phylink_fwnode_phy_connect(pl, dev_fwnode(dev), flags);
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(phylink_device_phy_connect);
+
 /**
  * phylink_of_phy_connect() - connect the PHY specified in the DT mode.
  * @pl: a pointer to a &struct phylink returned from phylink_create()
diff --git a/include/linux/phylink.h b/include/linux/phylink.h
index cc5b452a184e..c2bd0ee9dd9c 100644
--- a/include/linux/phylink.h
+++ b/include/linux/phylink.h
@@ -367,6 +367,12 @@ void phylink_add_pcs(struct phylink *, const struct phylink_pcs_ops *ops);
 void phylink_destroy(struct phylink *);
 
 int phylink_connect_phy(struct phylink *, struct phy_device *);
+int phylink_fwnode_phy_connect(struct phylink *pl,
+			       struct fwnode_handle *fwnode,
+			       u32 flags);
+int phylink_device_phy_connect(struct phylink *pl,
+			       struct device *dev,
+			       u32 flags);
 int phylink_of_phy_connect(struct phylink *, struct device_node *, u32 flags);
 void phylink_disconnect_phy(struct phylink *);
 
-- 
2.17.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists