lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 1 May 2020 15:25:24 +0200
From:   Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>
To:     Vadym Kochan <vadym.kochan@...ision.eu>
Cc:     netdev@...r.kernel.org, "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Oleksandr Mazur <oleksandr.mazur@...ision.eu>,
        Serhiy Boiko <serhiy.boiko@...ision.eu>,
        Serhiy Pshyk <serhiy.pshyk@...ision.eu>,
        Volodymyr Mytnyk <volodymyr.mytnyk@...ision.eu>,
        Taras Chornyi <taras.chornyi@...ision.eu>,
        Andrii Savka <andrii.savka@...ision.eu>,
        Jiri Pirko <jiri@...lanox.com>,
        Ido Schimmel <idosch@...lanox.com>,
        Chris Packham <Chris.Packham@...iedtelesis.co.nz>
Subject: Re: [RFC next-next v2 2/5] net: marvell: prestera: Add PCI interface
 support

> > Hi Vadym
> > 
> > What are the plans for getting the firmware into linux-firmware git
> > repo?
> > 
> > 	Andrew
> 
> Well, what is the procedure ? I was thinking that probably after
> conceptual part will be approved and I will send official PATCH series
> along with the firmware image to the linux-firmware ?

Hi Vadym

I just wanted to ensure you actually were going to send the
firmware. For the Marvell 10G PHYs, you need to signed an NDA with
Marvell to get the firmware, and you probably cannot distribute
it. Marvell seems to have no interest in making the firmware
available. So we NACKed support for loading the firmware a runtime.

If you have all the legal mumbo jumbo in place to make the firmware
available, great. You can post it for merging to linux-firmware now.

Thanks
	   Andrew

Powered by blists - more mailing lists