lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 6 May 2020 12:31:20 -0700
From:   Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>
To:     Igor Russkikh <irusskikh@...vell.com>
Cc:     <netdev@...r.kernel.org>, "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Ariel Elior <aelior@...vell.com>,
        Michal Kalderon <mkalderon@...vell.com>,
        Denis Bolotin <dbolotin@...vell.com>,
        Ariel Elior <ariel.elior@...vell.com>,
        Michal Kalderon <michal.kalderon@...vell.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next 06/12] net: qed: gather debug data on hw errors

On Wed, 6 May 2020 14:33:08 +0300 Igor Russkikh wrote:
> To implement debug dump retrieval on a live system we add callbacks to
> collect the same data which is collected now during manual `ethtool -d`
> call.
> 
> But we instead collect the dump immediately at the moment bad thing
> happens, and save it for later retrieval by the same `ethtool -d`.
> 
> To have ability to track this event, we add kobject uevent trigger,
> so udev event handler script could be used to automatically collect dumps.

No way. Please use devlink health. Instead of magic ethtool dumps and
custom udev.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists