lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 11 May 2020 18:43:24 +0200
From:   Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>
To:     Jiri Pirko <jiri@...nulli.us>
Cc:     Vadym Kochan <vadym.kochan@...ision.eu>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Oleksandr Mazur <oleksandr.mazur@...ision.eu>,
        Serhiy Boiko <serhiy.boiko@...ision.eu>,
        Serhiy Pshyk <serhiy.pshyk@...ision.eu>,
        Volodymyr Mytnyk <volodymyr.mytnyk@...ision.eu>,
        Taras Chornyi <taras.chornyi@...ision.eu>,
        Andrii Savka <andrii.savka@...ision.eu>,
        Jiri Pirko <jiri@...lanox.com>,
        Ido Schimmel <idosch@...lanox.com>,
        Chris Packham <Chris.Packham@...iedtelesis.co.nz>
Subject: Re: [RFC next-next v2 1/5] net: marvell: prestera: Add driver for
 Prestera family ASIC devices

> Though in this case, it is not really a MAC, it is a BASE_MAC...
> Maybe in DSA world this is usual?

In the DSA world we take the MAC address from the master interface.
And all slave interfaces have the same MAC address, so it is not
really a base MAC, it is The MAC. The slaves are however allowed to
change their MAC address.

Where the master interface gets its MAC address from is somebody elses
problem.

	Andrew

Powered by blists - more mailing lists