lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 11 May 2020 17:32:43 +0200
From:   Jiri Pirko <jiri@...nulli.us>
To:     Vadym Kochan <vadym.kochan@...ision.eu>
Cc:     Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Oleksandr Mazur <oleksandr.mazur@...ision.eu>,
        Serhiy Boiko <serhiy.boiko@...ision.eu>,
        Serhiy Pshyk <serhiy.pshyk@...ision.eu>,
        Volodymyr Mytnyk <volodymyr.mytnyk@...ision.eu>,
        Taras Chornyi <taras.chornyi@...ision.eu>,
        Andrii Savka <andrii.savka@...ision.eu>,
        Jiri Pirko <jiri@...lanox.com>,
        Ido Schimmel <idosch@...lanox.com>,
        Chris Packham <Chris.Packham@...iedtelesis.co.nz>
Subject: Re: [RFC next-next v2 1/5] net: marvell: prestera: Add driver for
 Prestera family ASIC devices

Mon, May 11, 2020 at 04:11:17PM CEST, vadym.kochan@...ision.eu wrote:
>On Mon, May 11, 2020 at 03:53:59PM +0200, Andrew Lunn wrote:
>> > Looks like it might be hard for the board manufacturing? I mean each
>> > board item need to have updated dtb file with base mac address, instead
>> > to have common dtb for the board type.
>> > 
>> > And it sounds that platform data might be the way in case if the vendor
>> > will implement platform device driver which will handle reading base mac
>> > from eeprom (or other storage) depending on the board and put it to the
>> > platform data which will be provided to prestera driver ?
>> 
>> Hi Vadym
>> 
>> This is not a new problem. Go look at the standard solutions to this.
>> 
>> of_get_mac_address(), eth_platform_get_mac_address(),
>> nvmem_get_mac_address(), of_get_mac_addr_nvmem(), etc.
>> 
>>   Andrew
>
>Thank you! I will look on it!

Though in this case, it is not really a MAC, it is a BASE_MAC...
Maybe in DSA world this is usual?

Powered by blists - more mailing lists