lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 11 May 2020 13:30:40 +0530
From:   Calvin Johnson <calvin.johnson@....nxp.com>
To:     Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>
Cc:     Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@....com>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@...il.com>,
        "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>,
        Russell King - ARM Linux admin <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        linux.cj@...il.com, Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Cristi Sovaiala <cristian.sovaiala@....com>,
        Florin Laurentiu Chiculita <florinlaurentiu.chiculita@....com>,
        Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@....com>,
        Madalin Bucur <madalin.bucur@....nxp.com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@...ux.intel.com>,
        Varun Sethi <V.Sethi@....com>,
        "Rajesh V . Bikkina" <rajesh.bikkina@....com>,
        ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Diana Madalina Craciun <diana.craciun@....com>,
        netdev <netdev@...r.kernel.org>, Marcin Wojtas <mw@...ihalf.com>,
        Laurentiu Tudor <laurentiu.tudor@....com>,
        Makarand Pawagi <makarand.pawagi@....com>,
        linux-arm Mailing List <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Pankaj Bansal <pankaj.bansal@....com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [net-next PATCH v3 4/5] net: phy: Introduce fwnode_get_phy_id()

On Sat, May 09, 2020 at 01:42:57AM +0200, Andrew Lunn wrote:
> On Fri, May 08, 2020 at 05:48:33PM -0500, Jeremy Linton wrote:
> > Hi,
> > 
> > On 5/8/20 3:27 PM, Andrew Lunn wrote:
> > > > > There is a very small number of devices where the vendor messed up,
> > > > > and did not put valid contents in the ID registers. In such cases, we
> > > > > can read the IDs from device tree. These are then used in exactly the
> > > > > same way as if they were read from the device.
> > > > > 
> > > > 
> > > > Is that the case here?
> > > 
> > > Sorry, I don't understand the question?
> > 
> > I was asking in general, does this machine report the ID's correctly.
> 
> Very likely, it does.
> 
> > The embedded single mac:mdio per nic case seems like the normal case, and
> > most of the existing ACPI described devices are setup that way.
> 
> Somebody in this thread pointed to ACPI patches for the
> MACCHIATOBin. If i remember the hardware correctly, it has 4 Ethernet
> interfaces, and two MDIO bus masters. One of the bus masters can only
> do C22 and the other can only do C45. It is expected that the busses
> are shared, not a nice one to one mapping.
> 
> > But at the same time, that shifts the c22/45 question to the nic
> > driver, where use of a DSD property before instantiating/probing
> > MDIO isn't really a problem if needed.
> 
> This in fact does not help you. The MAC driver has no idea what PHY is
> connected to it. The MAC does not know if it is C22 or C45. It uses
> the phylib abstraction which hides all this. Even if you assume 1:1,
> use phy_find_first(), it will not find a C45 PHY because without
> knowing there is a C45 PHY, we don't scan for it. And we should expect
> C45 PHYs to become more popular in the next few years.

Agree.

NXP's LX2160ARDB platform currently has the following MDIO-PHY connection.

MDIO-1 ==> one 40G PHY, two 1G PHYs(C45), two 10G PHYs(C22)
MDIO-2 ==> one 25G PHY

Both the MDIOs are capable of C45.

There can be other complex use cases as well.
So, it is important to configure MDIO talk both C22 and C45 for different PHYs
connected on the same bus.

Regards
Calvin

Powered by blists - more mailing lists