lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 28 May 2020 21:20:49 +0200
From:   Andrzej Pietrasiewicz <andrzej.p@...labora.com>
To:     linux-pm@...r.kernel.org, linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org,
        platform-driver-x86@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-renesas-soc@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-rockchip@...ts.infradead.org
Cc:     "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
        Len Brown <lenb@...nel.org>,
        Vishal Kulkarni <vishal@...lsio.com>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jiri Pirko <jiri@...lanox.com>,
        Ido Schimmel <idosch@...lanox.com>,
        Johannes Berg <johannes.berg@...el.com>,
        Emmanuel Grumbach <emmanuel.grumbach@...el.com>,
        Luca Coelho <luciano.coelho@...el.com>,
        Intel Linux Wireless <linuxwifi@...el.com>,
        Kalle Valo <kvalo@...eaurora.org>,
        Peter Kaestle <peter@...e.net>,
        Darren Hart <dvhart@...radead.org>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andy@...radead.org>,
        Sebastian Reichel <sre@...nel.org>,
        Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@...tlin.com>,
        Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@...aro.org>,
        Amit Kucheria <amit.kucheria@...durent.com>,
        Support Opensource <support.opensource@...semi.com>,
        Shawn Guo <shawnguo@...nel.org>,
        Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@...gutronix.de>,
        Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@...gutronix.de>,
        Fabio Estevam <festevam@...il.com>,
        NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@....com>,
        Niklas Söderlund <niklas.soderlund@...natech.se>,
        Heiko Stuebner <heiko@...ech.de>,
        Orson Zhai <orsonzhai@...il.com>,
        Baolin Wang <baolin.wang7@...il.com>,
        Chunyan Zhang <zhang.lyra@...il.com>,
        Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@...el.com>,
        Allison Randal <allison@...utok.net>,
        Enrico Weigelt <info@...ux.net>,
        Gayatri Kammela <gayatri.kammela@...el.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@...sung.com>,
        Andrzej Pietrasiewicz <andrzej.p@...labora.com>,
        kernel@...labora.com
Subject: [PATCH v4 09/11] thermal: core: Stop polling DISABLED thermal devices

Polling DISABLED devices is not desired, as all such "disabled" devices
are meant to be handled by userspace. This patch introduces and uses
should_stop_polling() to decide whether the device should be polled or not.

Signed-off-by: Andrzej Pietrasiewicz <andrzej.p@...labora.com>
---
 drivers/thermal/thermal_core.c | 16 ++++++++++++++--
 1 file changed, 14 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/thermal/thermal_core.c b/drivers/thermal/thermal_core.c
index 14baf0288759..e9c0b990e4a9 100644
--- a/drivers/thermal/thermal_core.c
+++ b/drivers/thermal/thermal_core.c
@@ -301,13 +301,22 @@ static void thermal_zone_device_set_polling(struct thermal_zone_device *tz,
 		cancel_delayed_work(&tz->poll_queue);
 }
 
+static inline bool should_stop_polling(struct thermal_zone_device *tz)
+{
+	return !thermal_zone_device_is_enabled(tz);
+}
+
 static void monitor_thermal_zone(struct thermal_zone_device *tz)
 {
+	bool stop;
+
+	stop = should_stop_polling(tz);
+
 	mutex_lock(&tz->lock);
 
-	if (tz->passive)
+	if (!stop && tz->passive)
 		thermal_zone_device_set_polling(tz, tz->passive_delay);
-	else if (tz->polling_delay)
+	else if (!stop && tz->polling_delay)
 		thermal_zone_device_set_polling(tz, tz->polling_delay);
 	else
 		thermal_zone_device_set_polling(tz, 0);
@@ -517,6 +526,9 @@ void thermal_zone_device_update(struct thermal_zone_device *tz,
 {
 	int count;
 
+	if (should_stop_polling(tz))
+		return;
+
 	if (atomic_read(&in_suspend))
 		return;
 
-- 
2.17.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists