lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 30 Jun 2020 15:28:56 +0100
From:   Russell King <rmk+kernel@...linux.org.uk>
To:     Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@....com>
Cc:     Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@....com>,
        Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@....com>,
        Alexandru Marginean <alexandru.marginean@....com>,
        "michael@...le.cc" <michael@...le.cc>,
        "olteanv@...il.com" <olteanv@...il.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>, netdev@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH RFC net-next 05/13] net: phylink: update PCS when changing
 interface during resolution

The only PHYs that are used with phylink which change their interface
are the BCM84881 and MV88X3310 family, both of which only change their
interface modes on link-up events.  This will break when drivers are
converted to split-PCS.  Fix this.

Signed-off-by: Russell King <rmk+kernel@...linux.org.uk>
---
 drivers/net/phy/phylink.c | 9 ++++++++-
 1 file changed, 8 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/phy/phylink.c b/drivers/net/phy/phylink.c
index 1507ea8a9385..f1693ec63366 100644
--- a/drivers/net/phy/phylink.c
+++ b/drivers/net/phy/phylink.c
@@ -629,8 +629,15 @@ static void phylink_resolve(struct work_struct *w)
 				phylink_link_down(pl);
 				cur_link_state = false;
 			}
+			phylink_pcs_config(pl, false, &link_state);
+			pl->link_config.interface = link_state.interface;
+		} else {
+			/* The interface remains unchanged, only the speed,
+			 * duplex or pause settings have changed. Call the
+			 * old mac_config() method to configure the MAC/PCS.
+			 */
+			phylink_mac_config(pl, &link_state);
 		}
-		phylink_mac_config(pl, &link_state);
 	}
 
 	if (link_state.link != cur_link_state) {
-- 
2.20.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists