lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 30 Jun 2020 15:29:01 +0100
From:   Russell King <rmk+kernel@...linux.org.uk>
To:     Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@....com>
Cc:     Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@....com>,
        Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@....com>,
        Alexandru Marginean <alexandru.marginean@....com>,
        "michael@...le.cc" <michael@...le.cc>,
        "olteanv@...il.com" <olteanv@...il.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>, netdev@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH RFC net-next 06/13] net: phylink: avoid mac_config calls

Avoid calling mac_config() when using split PCS, and the interface
remains the same.

Signed-off-by: Russell King <rmk+kernel@...linux.org.uk>
---
 drivers/net/phy/phylink.c | 6 ++++--
 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/phy/phylink.c b/drivers/net/phy/phylink.c
index f1693ec63366..424a927d7889 100644
--- a/drivers/net/phy/phylink.c
+++ b/drivers/net/phy/phylink.c
@@ -631,10 +631,12 @@ static void phylink_resolve(struct work_struct *w)
 			}
 			phylink_pcs_config(pl, false, &link_state);
 			pl->link_config.interface = link_state.interface;
-		} else {
+		} else if (!pl->pcs_ops) {
 			/* The interface remains unchanged, only the speed,
 			 * duplex or pause settings have changed. Call the
-			 * old mac_config() method to configure the MAC/PCS.
+			 * old mac_config() method to configure the MAC/PCS
+			 * only if we do not have a PCS installed (an
+			 * unconverted user.)
 			 */
 			phylink_mac_config(pl, &link_state);
 		}
-- 
2.20.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists