lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 30 Sep 2020 09:00:59 +0100
From:   Martin Habets <mhabets@...arflare.com>
To:     Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
CC:     LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Paul McKenney <paulmck@...nel.org>,
        Matthew Wilcox <willy@...radead.org>,
        Christian Benvenuti <benve@...co.com>,
        "Govindarajulu Varadarajan" <_govind@....com>,
        Dave Miller <davem@...emloft.net>,
        "Jakub Kicinski" <kuba@...nel.org>, <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@...nel.org>,
        <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>,
        Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@...utronix.de>,
        Luc Van Oostenryck <luc.vanoostenryck@...il.com>,
        Jay Cliburn <jcliburn@...il.com>,
        Chris Snook <chris.snook@...il.com>,
        "Vishal Kulkarni" <vishal@...lsio.com>,
        Jeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@...el.com>,
        <intel-wired-lan@...ts.osuosl.org>,
        Shannon Nelson <snelson@...sando.io>,
        Pensando Drivers <drivers@...sando.io>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        "Heiner Kallweit" <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        "Thomas Bogendoerfer" <tsbogend@...ha.franken.de>,
        Solarflare linux maintainers <linux-net-drivers@...arflare.com>,
        Edward Cree <ecree@...arflare.com>,
        "Jon Mason" <jdmason@...zu.us>, Daniel Drake <dsd@...too.org>,
        Ulrich Kunitz <kune@...ne-taler.de>,
        Kalle Valo <kvalo@...eaurora.org>,
        <linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org>, <linux-usb@...r.kernel.org>,
        "Greg Kroah-Hartman" <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Arend van Spriel <arend.vanspriel@...adcom.com>,
        Franky Lin <franky.lin@...adcom.com>,
        "Hante Meuleman" <hante.meuleman@...adcom.com>,
        Chi-Hsien Lin <chi-hsien.lin@...ress.com>,
        Wright Feng <wright.feng@...ress.com>,
        <brcm80211-dev-list.pdl@...adcom.com>,
        <brcm80211-dev-list@...ress.com>,
        Stanislav Yakovlev <stas.yakovlev@...il.com>,
        Stanislaw Gruszka <stf_xl@...pl>,
        Johannes Berg <johannes.berg@...el.com>,
        Emmanuel Grumbach <emmanuel.grumbach@...el.com>,
        Luca Coelho <luciano.coelho@...el.com>,
        "Intel Linux Wireless" <linuxwifi@...el.com>,
        Jouni Malinen <j@...fi>,
        "Amitkumar Karwar" <amitkarwar@...il.com>,
        Ganapathi Bhat <ganapathi.bhat@....com>,
        Xinming Hu <huxinming820@...il.com>,
        <libertas-dev@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Pascal Terjan <pterjan@...gle.com>,
        Ping-Ke Shih <pkshih@...ltek.com>
Subject: Re: [patch V2 16/36] net: sfc: Use GFP_KERNEL in
 efx_ef10_try_update_nic_stats()

On Tue, Sep 29, 2020 at 10:25:25PM +0200, Thomas Gleixner wrote:
> From: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@...utronix.de>
> 
> efx_ef10_try_update_nic_stats_vf() is now only invoked from thread context
> and can sleep after efx::stats_lock is dropped.
> 
> Change the allocation mode from GFP_ATOMIC to GFP_KERNEL.
> Signed-off-by: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@...utronix.de>
> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>

Acked-by: Martin Habets <mhabets@...arflare.com>

> ---
> V2: Adjust to Edward's stats update split
> ---
>  drivers/net/ethernet/sfc/ef10.c |    2 +-
>  1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
> 
> --- a/drivers/net/ethernet/sfc/ef10.c
> +++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/sfc/ef10.c
> @@ -1873,7 +1873,7 @@ static int efx_ef10_try_update_nic_stats
>  
>  	efx_ef10_get_stat_mask(efx, mask);
>  
> -	rc = efx_nic_alloc_buffer(efx, &stats_buf, dma_len, GFP_ATOMIC);
> +	rc = efx_nic_alloc_buffer(efx, &stats_buf, dma_len, GFP_KERNEL);
>  	if (rc) {
>  		spin_lock_bh(&efx->stats_lock);
>  		return rc;

Powered by blists - more mailing lists