lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sun, 11 Oct 2020 11:39:02 -0700
From:   Cong Wang <xiyou.wangcong@...il.com>
To:     Muchun Song <songmuchun@...edance.com>
Cc:     Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>, rafael@...nel.org,
        "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@...hat.com>,
        Jason Wang <jasowang@...hat.com>,
        David Miller <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@...il.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Alexey Kuznetsov <kuznet@....inr.ac.ru>,
        Hideaki YOSHIFUJI <yoshfuji@...ux-ipv6.org>,
        Steffen Klassert <steffen.klassert@...unet.com>,
        Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>, shakeelb@...gle.com,
        will@...nel.org, Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
        Roman Gushchin <guro@...com>, Neil Brown <neilb@...e.de>,
        rppt@...nel.org, samitolvanen@...gle.com,
        "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
        Feng Tang <feng.tang@...el.com>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Willem de Bruijn <willemb@...gle.com>,
        Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
        Florian Westphal <fw@...len.de>, gustavoars@...nel.org,
        Pablo Neira Ayuso <pablo@...filter.org>, decui@...rosoft.com,
        Jakub Sitnicki <jakub@...udflare.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@...ntu.com>,
        "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@...ssion.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>, dave@...olabs.net,
        walken@...gle.com, Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>,
        chenqiwu@...omi.com, christophe.leroy@....fr,
        Minchan Kim <minchan@...nel.org>,
        Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@...com>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Miaohe Lin <linmiaohe@...wei.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        virtualization@...ts.linux-foundation.org,
        Linux Kernel Network Developers <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-fsdevel <linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-mm <linux-mm@...ck.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] mm: proc: add Sock to /proc/meminfo

On Sat, Oct 10, 2020 at 3:39 AM Muchun Song <songmuchun@...edance.com> wrote:
>
> The amount of memory allocated to sockets buffer can become significant.
> However, we do not display the amount of memory consumed by sockets
> buffer. In this case, knowing where the memory is consumed by the kernel

We do it via `ss -m`. Is it not sufficient? And if not, why not adding it there
rather than /proc/meminfo?

>  static inline void __skb_frag_unref(skb_frag_t *frag)
>  {
> -       put_page(skb_frag_page(frag));
> +       struct page *page = skb_frag_page(frag);
> +
> +       if (put_page_testzero(page)) {
> +               dec_sock_node_page_state(page);
> +               __put_page(page);
> +       }
>  }

You mix socket page frag with skb frag at least, not sure this is exactly
what you want, because clearly skb page frags are frequently used
by network drivers rather than sockets.

Also, which one matches this dec_sock_node_page_state()? Clearly
not skb_fill_page_desc() or __skb_frag_ref().

Thanks.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists