lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 21 Jul 2021 10:32:58 +0200
From:   Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@...gutronix.de>
To:     Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>, devicetree@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Maxime Ripard <mripard@...nel.org>,
        Chen-Yu Tsai <wens@...e.org>,
        Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@...il.com>,
        Sam Ravnborg <sam@...nborg.org>,
        Rui Miguel Silva <rmfrfs@...il.com>,
        Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@...asonboard.com>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@...nel.org>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>,
        Robert Marko <robert.marko@...tura.hr>,
        Alessandro Zummo <a.zummo@...ertech.it>,
        Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@...tlin.com>,
        Ramesh Shanmugasundaram <rashanmu@...il.com>,
        "G. Jaya Kumaran" <vineetha.g.jaya.kumaran@...el.com>,
        Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
        Oleksij Rempel <o.rempel@...gutronix.de>,
        ChiYuan Huang <cy_huang@...htek.com>,
        Wei Xu <xuwei5@...ilicon.com>,
        Dilip Kota <eswara.kota@...ux.intel.com>,
        Karol Gugala <kgugala@...micro.com>,
        Mateusz Holenko <mholenko@...micro.com>,
        Olivier Moysan <olivier.moysan@...com>,
        Peter Ujfalusi <peter.ujfalusi@...com>,
        dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org, linux-media@...r.kernel.org,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, linux-rtc@...r.kernel.org,
        alsa-devel@...a-project.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH] dt-bindings: Remove "status" from schema examples

Hi Rob,

On Tue, 2021-07-20 at 11:20 -0600, Rob Herring wrote:
> There's no reason to have "status" properties in examples. "okay" is the
> default, and "disabled" turns off some schema checks ('required'
> specifically).

Is this documented somewhere? If not, should it be? (Maybe in writing-
schema.rst -> Schema Contents -> examples?)
 
> Enabling qca,ar71xx causes a warning, so let's fix the node names:
> 
> Documentation/devicetree/bindings/net/qca,ar71xx.example.dt.yaml: phy@3: '#phy-cells' is a required property
>         From schema: schemas/phy/phy-provider.yaml
> 
> Cc: Maxime Ripard <mripard@...nel.org>
> Cc: Chen-Yu Tsai <wens@...e.org>
> Cc: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@...il.com>
> Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@...nborg.org>
> Cc: Rui Miguel Silva <rmfrfs@...il.com>
> Cc: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@...asonboard.com>
> Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@...nel.org>
> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>
> Cc: Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>
> Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>
> Cc: Robert Marko <robert.marko@...tura.hr>
> Cc: Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@...gutronix.de>
> Cc: Alessandro Zummo <a.zummo@...ertech.it>
> Cc: Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@...tlin.com>
> Cc: Ramesh Shanmugasundaram <rashanmu@...il.com>
> Cc: "G. Jaya Kumaran" <vineetha.g.jaya.kumaran@...el.com>
> Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>
> Cc: Oleksij Rempel <o.rempel@...gutronix.de>
> Cc: ChiYuan Huang <cy_huang@...htek.com>
> Cc: Wei Xu <xuwei5@...ilicon.com>
> Cc: Dilip Kota <eswara.kota@...ux.intel.com>
> Cc: Karol Gugala <kgugala@...micro.com>
> Cc: Mateusz Holenko <mholenko@...micro.com>
> Cc: Olivier Moysan <olivier.moysan@...com>
> Cc: Peter Ujfalusi <peter.ujfalusi@...com>
> Cc: dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org
> Cc: linux-media@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: netdev@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-rtc@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: alsa-devel@...a-project.org
> Signed-off-by: Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>
> ---
>  .../display/allwinner,sun8i-a83t-dw-hdmi.yaml |  2 --
>  .../display/panel/boe,tv101wum-nl6.yaml       |  1 -
>  .../bindings/media/nxp,imx7-mipi-csi2.yaml    |  2 --
>  .../bindings/media/renesas,drif.yaml          |  1 -
>  .../bindings/net/intel,dwmac-plat.yaml        |  2 --
>  .../bindings/net/intel,ixp4xx-ethernet.yaml   |  2 --
>  .../bindings/net/nfc/samsung,s3fwrn5.yaml     |  3 ---
>  .../devicetree/bindings/net/qca,ar71xx.yaml   | 25 ++++---------------
>  .../regulator/richtek,rt6245-regulator.yaml   |  1 -
>  .../regulator/vqmmc-ipq4019-regulator.yaml    |  1 -
>  .../reset/hisilicon,hi3660-reset.yaml         |  1 -
>  .../bindings/reset/intel,rcu-gw.yaml          |  1 -
[...]

Reviewed-by: Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@...gutronix.de>

regards
Philipp

Powered by blists - more mailing lists