lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue,  3 Aug 2021 18:42:17 +0200
From:   Alexander Lobakin <alexandr.lobakin@...el.com>
To:     "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>
Cc:     Alexander Lobakin <alexandr.lobakin@...el.com>,
        Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@...el.com>,
        Lukasz Czapnik <lukasz.czapnik@...el.com>,
        Marcin Kubiak <marcin.kubiak@...el.com>,
        Michal Kubiak <michal.kubiak@...el.com>,
        Michal Swiatkowski <michal.swiatkowski@...el.com>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Netanel Belgazal <netanel@...zon.com>,
        Arthur Kiyanovski <akiyano@...zon.com>,
        Guy Tzalik <gtzalik@...zon.com>,
        Saeed Bishara <saeedb@...zon.com>,
        Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@....com>,
        Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@....com>,
        Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@...tlin.com>,
        Marcin Wojtas <mw@...ihalf.com>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Edward Cree <ecree.xilinx@...il.com>,
        Martin Habets <habetsm.xilinx@...il.com>,
        "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@...hat.com>,
        Jason Wang <jasowang@...hat.com>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Jesper Dangaard Brouer <hawk@...nel.org>,
        John Fastabend <john.fastabend@...il.com>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andrii@...nel.org>,
        Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@...com>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>, Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>,
        KP Singh <kpsingh@...nel.org>,
        Shay Agroskin <shayagr@...zon.com>,
        Sameeh Jubran <sameehj@...zon.com>,
        Alexander Duyck <alexanderduyck@...com>,
        Danielle Ratson <danieller@...dia.com>,
        Ido Schimmel <idosch@...dia.com>, Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Vladyslav Tarasiuk <vladyslavt@...dia.com>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Jian Shen <shenjian15@...wei.com>,
        Petr Vorel <petr.vorel@...il.com>, Dan Murphy <dmurphy@...com>,
        Yangbo Lu <yangbo.lu@....com>,
        Michal Kubecek <mkubecek@...e.cz>,
        Zheng Yongjun <zhengyongjun3@...wei.com>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        YueHaibing <yuehaibing@...wei.com>,
        Johannes Berg <johannes@...solutions.net>,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, linux-doc@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        virtualization@...ts.linux-foundation.org, bpf@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH net-next 19/21] virtio-net: don't mix error-caused drops with XDP_DROP cases

It's pretty confusing to have just one field for tracking both
XDP_DROP cases and various errors which lead to the frame being
dropped.
Add a new field, xdp_errors, to separate error paths, and leave
xdp_drops purely for counting frames with the XDP_DROP verdict.

Signed-off-by: Alexander Lobakin <alexandr.lobakin@...el.com>
Reviewed-by: Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@...el.com>
---
 drivers/net/virtio_net.c | 18 ++++++++++++++----
 1 file changed, 14 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/virtio_net.c b/drivers/net/virtio_net.c
index 8cbb4651ed75..acad099006cd 100644
--- a/drivers/net/virtio_net.c
+++ b/drivers/net/virtio_net.c
@@ -91,6 +91,7 @@ struct virtnet_rq_stats {
 	u64 xdp_tx;
 	u64 xdp_redirects;
 	u64 xdp_drops;
+	u64 xdp_errors;
 	u64 kicks;
 };
 
@@ -113,6 +114,7 @@ static const struct virtnet_stat_desc virtnet_rq_stats_desc[] = {
 	{ "xdp_tx",		VIRTNET_RQ_STAT(xdp_tx) },
 	{ "xdp_redirects",	VIRTNET_RQ_STAT(xdp_redirects) },
 	{ "xdp_drops",		VIRTNET_RQ_STAT(xdp_drops) },
+	{ "xdp_errors",		VIRTNET_RQ_STAT(xdp_errors) },
 	{ "kicks",		VIRTNET_RQ_STAT(kicks) },
 };
 
@@ -804,7 +806,8 @@ static struct sk_buff *receive_small(struct net_device *dev,
 			trace_xdp_exception(vi->dev, xdp_prog, act);
 			goto err_xdp;
 		case XDP_DROP:
-			goto err_xdp;
+			stats->xdp_drops++;
+			goto xdp_drop;
 		}
 	}
 	rcu_read_unlock();
@@ -828,8 +831,9 @@ static struct sk_buff *receive_small(struct net_device *dev,
 	return skb;
 
 err_xdp:
+	stats->xdp_errors++;
+xdp_drop:
 	rcu_read_unlock();
-	stats->xdp_drops++;
 err_len:
 	stats->drops++;
 	put_page(page);
@@ -1012,7 +1016,12 @@ static struct sk_buff *receive_mergeable(struct net_device *dev,
 		case XDP_DROP:
 			if (unlikely(xdp_page != page))
 				__free_pages(xdp_page, 0);
-			goto err_xdp;
+
+			if (unlikely(act != XDP_DROP))
+				goto err_xdp;
+
+			stats->xdp_drops++;
+			goto xdp_drop;
 		}
 	}
 	rcu_read_unlock();
@@ -1081,8 +1090,9 @@ static struct sk_buff *receive_mergeable(struct net_device *dev,
 	return head_skb;
 
 err_xdp:
+	stats->xdp_errors++;
+xdp_drop:
 	rcu_read_unlock();
-	stats->xdp_drops++;
 err_skb:
 	put_page(page);
 	while (num_buf-- > 1) {
-- 
2.31.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists