lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 24 Mar 2022 11:46:13 +0100
From:   Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>
To:     Jakob Koschel <jakobkoschel@...il.com>,
        Ariel Elior <aelior@...vell.com>
Cc:     Sudarsana Kalluru <skalluru@...vell.com>,
        Manish Chopra <manishc@...vell.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Mike Rapoport <rppt@...nel.org>,
        Brian Johannesmeyer <bjohannesmeyer@...il.com>,
        Cristiano Giuffrida <c.giuffrida@...nl>,
        "Bos, H.J." <h.j.bos@...nl>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] bnx2x: replace usage of found with dedicated list
 iterator variable

Hello,

On Thu, 2022-03-24 at 08:08 +0100, Jakob Koschel wrote:
> To move the list iterator variable into the list_for_each_entry_*()
> macro in the future it should be avoided to use the list iterator
> variable after the loop body.
> 
> To *never* use the list iterator variable after the loop it was
> concluded to use a separate iterator variable instead of a
> found boolean [1].
> 
> This removes the need to use a found variable and simply checking if
> the variable was set, can determine if the break/goto was hit.
> 
> Link: https://lore.kernel.org/all/CAHk-=wgRr_D8CB-D9Kg-c=EHreAsk5SqXPwr9Y7k9sA6cWXJ6w@mail.gmail.com/
> Signed-off-by: Jakob Koschel <jakobkoschel@...il.com>

This looks like a purely net-next change, and we are in the merge
window: net-next is closed for the time being. Could you please re-post
after net-next re-open?

Additionally, I suggest you to bundle the net-next patches in a single
series, namely:

bnx2x: replace usage of found with dedicated list iterator variable 
octeontx2-pf: replace usage of found with dedicated list iterator variable 
sctp: replace usage of found with dedicated list iterator variable 
taprio: replace usage of found with dedicated list iterator variable 

that will simplify the processing, thanks!

Paolo

Powered by blists - more mailing lists