lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue,  5 Jul 2022 13:47:35 -0700
From:   Colin Foster <colin.foster@...advantage.com>
To:     devicetree@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@....com>,
        Lee Jones <lee.jones@...aro.org>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski+dt@...aro.org>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Lars Povlsen <lars.povlsen@...rochip.com>,
        Steen Hegelund <Steen.Hegelund@...rochip.com>,
        UNGLinuxDriver@...rochip.com,
        Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
        Wolfram Sang <wsa@...nel.org>,
        Terry Bowman <terry.bowman@....com>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@...il.com>,
        katie.morris@...advantage.com
Subject: [PATCH v13 net-next 1/9] mfd: ocelot: add helper to get regmap from a resource

Several ocelot-related modules are designed for MMIO / regmaps. As such,
they often use a combination of devm_platform_get_and_ioremap_resource and
devm_regmap_init_mmio.

Operating in an MFD might be different, in that it could be memory mapped,
or it could be SPI, I2C... In these cases a fallback to use IORESOURCE_REG
instead of IORESOURCE_MEM becomes necessary.

When this happens, there's redundant logic that needs to be implemented in
every driver. In order to avoid this redundancy, utilize a single function
that, if the MFD scenario is enabled, will perform this fallback logic.

Signed-off-by: Colin Foster <colin.foster@...advantage.com>
---
 MAINTAINERS                |  5 ++++
 include/linux/mfd/ocelot.h | 55 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 2 files changed, 60 insertions(+)
 create mode 100644 include/linux/mfd/ocelot.h

diff --git a/MAINTAINERS b/MAINTAINERS
index 28108e4fdb8f..f781caceeb38 100644
--- a/MAINTAINERS
+++ b/MAINTAINERS
@@ -14467,6 +14467,11 @@ F:	net/dsa/tag_ocelot.c
 F:	net/dsa/tag_ocelot_8021q.c
 F:	tools/testing/selftests/drivers/net/ocelot/*
 
+OCELOT EXTERNAL SWITCH CONTROL
+M:	Colin Foster <colin.foster@...advantage.com>
+S:	Supported
+F:	include/linux/mfd/ocelot.h
+
 OCXL (Open Coherent Accelerator Processor Interface OpenCAPI) DRIVER
 M:	Frederic Barrat <fbarrat@...ux.ibm.com>
 M:	Andrew Donnellan <ajd@...ux.ibm.com>
diff --git a/include/linux/mfd/ocelot.h b/include/linux/mfd/ocelot.h
new file mode 100644
index 000000000000..353b7c2ee445
--- /dev/null
+++ b/include/linux/mfd/ocelot.h
@@ -0,0 +1,55 @@
+/* SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0 OR MIT */
+/* Copyright 2022 Innovative Advantage Inc. */
+
+#include <linux/err.h>
+#include <linux/platform_device.h>
+#include <linux/regmap.h>
+#include <linux/types.h>
+
+struct resource;
+
+static inline struct regmap *
+ocelot_regmap_from_resource_optional(struct platform_device *pdev,
+				     unsigned int index,
+				     const struct regmap_config *config)
+{
+	struct device *dev = &pdev->dev;
+	struct resource *res;
+	u32 __iomem *regs;
+
+	/*
+	 * Don't use get_and_ioremap_resource here, since that will invoke
+	 * prints of "invalid resource" which simply add confusion
+	 */
+	res = platform_get_resource(pdev, IORESOURCE_MEM, index);
+	if (res) {
+		regs = devm_ioremap_resource(dev, res);
+		if (IS_ERR(regs))
+			return ERR_CAST(regs);
+		return devm_regmap_init_mmio(dev, regs, config);
+	}
+
+	/*
+	 * Fall back to using REG and getting the resource from the parent
+	 * device, which is possible in an MFD configuration
+	 */
+	if (dev->parent) {
+		res = platform_get_resource(pdev, IORESOURCE_REG, index);
+		if (!res)
+			return NULL;
+
+		return dev_get_regmap(dev->parent, res->name);
+	}
+
+	return NULL;
+}
+
+static inline struct regmap *
+ocelot_regmap_from_resource(struct platform_device *pdev, unsigned int index,
+			    const struct regmap_config *config)
+{
+	struct regmap *map;
+
+	map = ocelot_regmap_from_resource_optional(pdev, index, config);
+	return map ?: ERR_PTR(-ENOENT);
+}
-- 
2.25.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists