lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 6 Jul 2022 16:45:53 +0000
From:   Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@....com>
To:     Martin Blumenstingl <martin.blumenstingl@...glemail.com>
CC:     "netdev@...r.kernel.org" <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Xiaoliang Yang <xiaoliang.yang_1@....com>,
        Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@....com>,
        Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@...tlin.com>,
        "UNGLinuxDriver@...rochip.com" <UNGLinuxDriver@...rochip.com>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@...il.com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Petr Machata <petrm@...dia.com>,
        Ido Schimmel <idosch@...dia.com>,
        Woojung Huh <woojung.huh@...rochip.com>,
        Oleksij Rempel <linux@...pel-privat.de>,
        Arun Ramadoss <arun.ramadoss@...rochip.com>,
        Hauke Mehrtens <hauke@...ke-m.de>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH net-next 3/3] net: dsa: never skip VLAN configuration

Hi Martin,

On Wed, Jul 06, 2022 at 06:33:18PM +0200, Martin Blumenstingl wrote:
> Hi Vladimir,
> 
> On Tue, Jul 5, 2022 at 7:32 PM Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@....com> wrote:
> >
> > Stop protecting DSA drivers from switchdev VLAN notifications emitted
> > while the bridge has vlan_filtering 0, by deleting the deprecated bool
> > ds->configure_vlan_while_not_filtering opt-in. Now all DSA drivers see
> > all notifications and should save the bridge PVID until they need to
> > commit it to hardware.
> >
> > The 2 remaining unconverted drivers are the gswip and the Microchip KSZ
> > family. They are both probably broken and would need changing as far as
> > I can see:
> >
> > - For lantiq_gswip, after the initial call path
> >   -> gswip_port_bridge_join
> >      -> gswip_vlan_add_unaware
> >         -> gswip_switch_w(priv, 0, GSWIP_PCE_DEFPVID(port));
> >   nobody seems to prevent a future call path
> >   -> gswip_port_vlan_add
> >      -> gswip_vlan_add_aware
> >         -> gswip_switch_w(priv, idx, GSWIP_PCE_DEFPVID(port));
> Thanks for bringing this to my attention!
> 
> I tried to reproduce this issue with the selftest script you provided
> (patch #1 in this series).
> Unfortunately not even the ping_ipv4 and ping_ipv6 tests from
> bridge_vlan_unaware.sh are working for me, nor are the tests from
> router_bridge.sh.
> I suspect that this is an issue with OpenWrt: I already enabled bash,
> jq and the full ip package, vrf support in the kernel. OpenWrt's ping
> command doesn't like a ping interval of 0.1s so I replaced that with
> an 1s interval.
> 
> I will try to get the selftests to work here but I think that
> shouldn't block this patch.

Thanks for the willingness to test!

Somehow we should do something to make sure that the OpenWRT devices are
able to run the selftests, because there's a large number of DSA switches
intended for that segment and we should all be onboard (easily).

I wonder, would it be possible to set up a debian chroot?

Powered by blists - more mailing lists