lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 30 Sep 2022 16:59:13 +0200
From:   netdev@...io-technology.com
To:     Ido Schimmel <idosch@...dia.com>
Cc:     Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>, davem@...emloft.net,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@...il.com>,
        Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@...il.com>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Kurt Kanzenbach <kurt@...utronix.de>,
        Hauke Mehrtens <hauke@...ke-m.de>,
        Woojung Huh <woojung.huh@...rochip.com>,
        UNGLinuxDriver@...rochip.com, Sean Wang <sean.wang@...iatek.com>,
        Landen Chao <Landen.Chao@...iatek.com>,
        DENG Qingfang <dqfext@...il.com>,
        Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
        Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@....com>,
        Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@...tlin.com>,
        Jiri Pirko <jiri@...nulli.us>,
        Ivan Vecera <ivecera@...hat.com>,
        Roopa Prabhu <roopa@...dia.com>,
        Nikolay Aleksandrov <razor@...ckwall.org>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Christian Marangi <ansuelsmth@...il.com>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Yuwei Wang <wangyuweihx@...il.com>,
        Petr Machata <petrm@...dia.com>,
        Florent Fourcot <florent.fourcot@...irst.fr>,
        Hans Schultz <schultz.hans@...il.com>,
        Joachim Wiberg <troglobit@...il.com>,
        Amit Cohen <amcohen@...dia.com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org,
        bridge@...ts.linux-foundation.org, linux-kselftest@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 net-next 0/9] Extend locked port feature with FDB
 locked flag (MAC-Auth/MAB)

On 2022-09-30 16:05, Ido Schimmel wrote:
> On Fri, Sep 30, 2022 at 07:42:37AM +0200, netdev@...io-technology.com 
> wrote:
>> Obviously my method of selecting all switchcore drivers with 
>> sub-options
>> under menuconfig was not sufficient, and I didn't know of the 
>> allmodconfig
>> option, otherwise I would have used it.
> 
> You can see build issues on patchwork:
> 
> https://patchwork.kernel.org/project/netdevbpf/patch/20220928150256.115248-6-netdev@kapio-technology.com/
> 
> Also:
> 
> https://docs.kernel.org/next/process/maintainer-netdev.html#what-level-of-testing-is-expected-before-i-submit-my-change
> 
> https://docs.kernel.org/next/process/maintainer-netdev.html#can-i-reproduce-the-checks-from-patchwork-on-my-local-machine
> 
> https://docs.kernel.org/next/process/maintainer-netdev.html#running-all-the-builds-and-checks-locally-is-a-pain-can-i-post-my-patches-and-have-the-patchwork-bot-validate-them
> 
>> So the question is if I should repost the fixed patch-set or I need to 
>> make
>> a new version?
> 
> A new fixed version (v7) is required, but wait for this version to be
> reviewed first.
> 
>> Anyhow I hope that there will not be problems when running the 
>> selftests, as
>> I have not been able to do so with my system, so there can be more 
>> that
>> needs to be changed.
> 
> It's not really acceptable to post tests that you haven't run... What
> exactly is the issue? You should be able to run the tests with veth
> pairs in a VM.

It is only the blackhole test that I have not been able to run as is, 
but I have stepped it manually as far as I could.
My environment has changed lately and in that context the building of 
the selftests fails and I don't know why,I just get some error 
messagesabout missing header files, and setting up a whole system like 
f.ex. linuxfromscratch with the necessary libs and tools to run it in a 
VM is too time consuming a task at the moment.

If there is some freely available system for the purpose out there 
besides my own system based on Buildroot that does not work now, please 
let me know...

Powered by blists - more mailing lists