lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 21 Oct 2022 16:39:40 +0200
From:   Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>
To:     Maxime Chevallier <maxime.chevallier@...tlin.com>
Cc:     davem@...emloft.net, Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@...aro.org>,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        devicetree@...r.kernel.org, thomas.petazzoni@...tlin.com,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@....com>,
        Luka Perkov <luka.perkov@...tura.hr>,
        Robert Marko <robert.marko@...tura.hr>
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next v5 2/5] net: ipqess: introduce the Qualcomm
 IPQESS driver

> +static int ipqess_axi_remove(struct platform_device *pdev)
> +{
> +	const struct net_device *netdev = platform_get_drvdata(pdev);
> +	struct ipqess *ess = netdev_priv(netdev);
> +
> +	ipqess_hw_stop(ess);
> +	unregister_netdev(ess->netdev);

Should the unregister come first? What happens if the network stack
tries to use the interface during/after ipqess_hw_stop()? It just
seems like it would be safer to first unregister the interface, and
then stop it?

> +struct ipqess_tx_desc {
> +	__le16  len;
> +	__le16  svlan_tag;
> +	__le32  word1;
> +	__le32  addr;
> +	__le32  word3;
> +} __aligned(16) __packed;
> +
> +struct ipqess_rx_desc {
> +	u16 rrd0;
> +	u16 rrd1;
> +	u16 rrd2;
> +	u16 rrd3;
> +	u16 rrd4;
> +	u16 rrd5;
> +	u16 rrd6;
> +	u16 rrd7;
> +} __aligned(16) __packed;

The TX descriptor is little endian, but the RX descriptor is host
endian?

	Andrew

Powered by blists - more mailing lists