lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 28 Oct 2022 16:43:14 +0300
From:   Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@...cle.com>
To:     Bagas Sanjaya <bagasdotme@...il.com>
Cc:     наб <nabijaczleweli@...ijaczleweli.xyz>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Federico Vaga <federico.vaga@...a.pv.it>,
        Alex Shi <alexs@...nel.org>,
        Yanteng Si <siyanteng@...ngson.cn>,
        Hu Haowen <src.res@...il.cn>,
        Thomas Sailer <t.sailer@...mni.ethz.ch>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Jakub Kiciński <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Jiri Slaby <jirislaby@...nel.org>, linux-doc@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-doc-tw-discuss@...ts.sourceforge.net,
        linux-hams@...r.kernel.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 01/15] hamradio: baycom: remove BAYCOM_MAGIC

On Fri, Oct 28, 2022 at 08:13:49PM +0700, Bagas Sanjaya wrote:
> On 10/27/22 05:42, наб wrote:
> > Since defanging in v2.6.12-rc1 it's set exactly once per port on probe
> > and checked exactly once per port on unload: it's useless. Kill it.
> > 
> 
> What do you mean by defanging in that release?

I was also curious about this, but I accidentally sent my question
privately instead of to the list.

> 
> Also, s/Kill it/Remove BAYCOM_MAGIC from magic numbers table/ (your
> wording is kinda mature).
> 

The kernel has almost 13 thousand kills...

$ git grep -i kill | wc -l
12975
$

It's fine.

regards,
dan carpenter

Powered by blists - more mailing lists