lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 26 Oct 2023 15:38:39 -0700
From: Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>
To: Justin Stitt <justinstitt@...gle.com>, "David S. Miller"
 <davem@...emloft.net>, Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>, Jakub Kicinski
 <kuba@...nel.org>, Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>, Shay Agroskin
 <shayagr@...zon.com>, Arthur Kiyanovski <akiyano@...zon.com>, David Arinzon
 <darinzon@...zon.com>, Noam Dagan <ndagan@...zon.com>, Saeed Bishara
 <saeedb@...zon.com>, Rasesh Mody <rmody@...vell.com>, Sudarsana Kalluru
 <skalluru@...vell.com>, GR-Linux-NIC-Dev@...vell.com, Dimitris Michailidis
 <dmichail@...gible.com>, Yisen Zhuang <yisen.zhuang@...wei.com>, Salil
 Mehta <salil.mehta@...wei.com>, Jesse Brandeburg
 <jesse.brandeburg@...el.com>,  Tony Nguyen <anthony.l.nguyen@...el.com>,
 Louis Peens <louis.peens@...igine.com>, Shannon Nelson
 <shannon.nelson@....com>, Brett Creeley <brett.creeley@....com>, 
 drivers@...sando.io, "K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@...rosoft.com>, Haiyang Zhang
 <haiyangz@...rosoft.com>, Wei Liu <wei.liu@...nel.org>, Dexuan Cui
 <decui@...rosoft.com>, Ronak Doshi <doshir@...are.com>, VMware PV-Drivers
 Reviewers <pv-drivers@...are.com>, Andy Whitcroft <apw@...onical.com>,
 Dwaipayan Ray <dwaipayanray1@...il.com>, Lukas Bulwahn
 <lukas.bulwahn@...il.com>, Hauke Mehrtens <hauke@...ke-m.de>, Andrew Lunn
 <andrew@...n.ch>, Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,  Vladimir Oltean
 <olteanv@...il.com>, Arınç ÜNAL
 <arinc.unal@...nc9.com>, Daniel Golle <daniel@...rotopia.org>, Landen Chao
 <Landen.Chao@...iatek.com>, DENG Qingfang <dqfext@...il.com>, Sean Wang
 <sean.wang@...iatek.com>, Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
 AngeloGioacchino Del Regno <angelogioacchino.delregno@...labora.com>, Linus
 Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>, Alvin Šipraga
 <alsi@...g-olufsen.dk>, Wei Fang <wei.fang@....com>, Shenwei Wang
 <shenwei.wang@....com>, Clark Wang <xiaoning.wang@....com>, NXP Linux Team
 <linux-imx@....com>, Lars Povlsen <lars.povlsen@...rochip.com>, Steen
 Hegelund <Steen.Hegelund@...rochip.com>, Daniel Machon
 <daniel.machon@...rochip.com>,  UNGLinuxDriver@...rochip.com, Jiawen Wu
 <jiawenwu@...stnetic.com>, Mengyuan Lou <mengyuanlou@...-swift.com>, Heiner
 Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>, Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
 Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>, Daniel Borkmann
 <daniel@...earbox.net>, Jesper Dangaard Brouer <hawk@...nel.org>, John
 Fastabend <john.fastabend@...il.com>
Cc: linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org, Nick Desaulniers
 <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>, Nathan Chancellor <nathan@...nel.org>, Kees Cook
 <keescook@...omium.org>, intel-wired-lan@...ts.osuosl.org, 
 oss-drivers@...igine.com, linux-hyperv@...r.kernel.org, 
 linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org, 
 bpf@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH next v2 2/3] checkpatch: add ethtool_sprintf rules

On Thu, 2023-10-26 at 21:56 +0000, Justin Stitt wrote:
> Add some warnings for using ethtool_sprintf() where a simple
> ethtool_puts() would suffice.
[]
> diff --git a/scripts/checkpatch.pl b/scripts/checkpatch.pl
[]
> @@ -7011,6 +7011,25 @@ sub process {
>  			     "Prefer strscpy, strscpy_pad, or __nonstring over strncpy - see: https://github.com/KSPP/linux/issues/90\n" . $herecurr);
>  		}
>  
> +# ethtool_sprintf uses that should likely be ethtool_puts
> +		if ($line =~ /\bethtool_sprintf\s*\(\s*$FuncArg\s*,\s*$FuncArg\s*\)/) {
> +			if(WARN("ETHTOOL_SPRINTF",
> +			   "Prefer ethtool_puts over ethtool_sprintf with only two arguments\n" . $herecurr) &&
> +         $fix) {
> +         $fixed[$fixlinenr] =~ s/ethtool_sprintf\s*\(/ethtool_puts\(/;
> +       }
> +		}
> +
> +		# use $rawline because $line loses %s via sanitization and thus we can't match against it.
> +		if ($rawline =~ /\bethtool_sprintf\s*\(\s*$FuncArg\s*,\s*\"\%s\"\s*,\s*$FuncArg\s*\)/) {
> +			if(WARN("ETHTOOL_SPRINTF",
> +			   "Prefer ethtool_puts over ethtool_sprintf with standalone \"%s\" specifier\n" . $herecurr) &&
> +         $fix) {
> +         $fixed[$fixlinenr] =~ s/ethtool_sprintf\s*\(\s*(.*?),.*?,(.*?)\)/ethtool_puts\($1,$2)/;

Thanks, but:

This fix wouldn't work if the first argument was itself a function
with multiple arguments.

And this is whitespace formatted incorrectly.

It:

o needs a space after if
o needs a space after the comma in the fix
o needs to use the appropriate amount and tabs for indentation
o needs alignment to open parentheses
o the backslashes are not required in the fix block

Do you want me to push what I wrote in the link below?
https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/7eec92d9e72d28e7b5202f41b02a383eb28ddd26.camel@perches.com/

> +       }
> +		}
> +
> +
>  # typecasts on min/max could be min_t/max_t
>  		if ($perl_version_ok &&
>  		    defined $stat &&
> 


Powered by blists - more mailing lists