lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 23 Sep 2021 23:04:11 -0700
From:   Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To:     Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc:     Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        Vito Caputo <vcaputo@...garu.com>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, Jens Axboe <axboe@...nel.dk>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Stefan Metzmacher <metze@...ba.org>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Lai Jiangshan <laijs@...ux.alibaba.com>,
        Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@...ntu.com>,
        "Kenta.Tada@...y.com" <Kenta.Tada@...y.com>,
        Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@...hat.com>,
        Michael WeiƟ 
        <michael.weiss@...ec.fraunhofer.de>,
        Anand K Mistry <amistry@...gle.com>,
        Alexey Gladkov <legion@...nel.org>,
        Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>, Helge Deller <deller@....de>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Andrea Righi <andrea.righi@...onical.com>,
        Ohhoon Kwon <ohoono.kwon@...sung.com>,
        Kalesh Singh <kaleshsingh@...gle.com>,
        YiFei Zhu <yifeifz2@...inois.edu>,
        "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@...ssion.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, x86@...nel.org,
        linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org, linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH] proc: Disable /proc/$pid/wchan

On Thu, Sep 23, 2021 at 07:13:06PM -0700, Andrew Morton wrote:
> On Thu, 23 Sep 2021 16:31:05 -0700 Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org> wrote:
> 
> > The /proc/$pid/wchan file has been broken by default on x86_64 for 4
> > years now[1].
> 
> [1] is hard to decrypt.  I think it would be better if this changelog
> were to describe the problem directly, completely and succinctly?
> 
> > As this remains a potential leak of either kernel
> > addresses (when symbolization fails) or limited observation of kernel
> > function progress, just remove the contents for good.
> > 
> > Unconditionally set the contents to "0" and also mark the wchan
> > field in /proc/$pid/stat with 0.
> > 
> > This leaves kernel/sched/fair.c as the only user of get_wchan(). But
> > again, since this was broken for 4 years, was this profiling logic
> > actually doing anything useful?
> 
> Agree that returning a hard-wired "0\n" is the way to go.

I must NAK my own patch. ;) It looks like this would be a breaking
userspace-visible change[1].

We need to fix the two bugs though:

1) wchan broken under ORC (patch exists in the thread at [1])

2) wchan leaking raw addresses (152c432b128c needs reverting from v5.12 and later)

-Kees

[1] https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20210924054647.v6x6risoa4jhuu6s@shells.gnugeneration.com

-- 
Kees Cook

Powered by blists - more mailing lists