lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Thu, 28 Nov 2013 11:23:52 +0530
From:	Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@...com>
To:	Matt Porter <matt.porter@...aro.org>
CC:	Felipe Balbi <balbi@...com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Rob Herring <rob.herring@...xeda.com>,
	Pawel Moll <pawel.moll@....com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	Kumar Gala <galak@...eaurora.org>,
	Ian Campbell <ijc+devicetree@...lion.org.uk>,
	Christian Daudt <bcm@...thebug.org>,
	Paul Zimmerman <paulz@...opsys.com>,
	Tomasz Figa <t.figa@...sung.com>,
	Kamil Debski <k.debski@...sung.com>,
	Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@...sung.com>,
	Linux USB List <linux-usb@...r.kernel.org>,
	Linux ARM Kernel List <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Devicetree List <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>,
	Linaro Patches <patches@...aro.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 5/9] usb: gadget: s3c-hsotg: use generic phy_init()/phy_exit()
 support

On Thursday 28 November 2013 04:06 AM, Matt Porter wrote:
> On Wed, Nov 27, 2013 at 12:13:25PM -0500, Matt Porter wrote:
>> On Tue, Nov 26, 2013 at 03:53:32PM +0530, Kishon Vijay Abraham I wrote:
>>> Hi,
>>>
>>> On Monday 25 November 2013 11:46 PM, Matt Porter wrote:
>>>> If a generic phy is present, call phy_init()/phy_exit(). This supports
>>>> generic phys that must be soft reset before power on.
>>>>
>>>> Signed-off-by: Matt Porter <matt.porter@...aro.org>
>>>> ---
>>>>  drivers/usb/gadget/s3c-hsotg.c | 5 +++++
>>>>  1 file changed, 5 insertions(+)
>>>>
>>>> diff --git a/drivers/usb/gadget/s3c-hsotg.c b/drivers/usb/gadget/s3c-hsotg.c
>>>> index da3879b..8dfe33f 100644
>>>> --- a/drivers/usb/gadget/s3c-hsotg.c
>>>> +++ b/drivers/usb/gadget/s3c-hsotg.c
>>>> @@ -3622,6 +3622,9 @@ static int s3c_hsotg_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
>>>>  		goto err_supplies;
>>>>  	}
>>>>  
>>>> +	if (hsotg->phy)
>>>
>>> IS_ERR? If your phy_get fails *phy* will have a error value..
>>
>> Yes, thanks. I'll fix these and also note that the same issue exists in
>> Kamil's patch for these same hsotg->phy conditional uses. I'll work with
>> Kamil to either get those addressed there or in a follow on fix.
> 
> I spoke too soon. If devm_phy_get fails, we don't set hsotg->phy and probe
> defer thus not reaching this point. Since hsotg->phy is either NULL or a
> valid struct phy *, this is correct as is throughout the driver.
> 
>>>
>>>> +		phy_init(hsotg->phy);
>>>> +
>>>>  	/* usb phy enable */
>>>>  	s3c_hsotg_phy_enable(hsotg);
>>>>  
>>>> @@ -3715,6 +3718,8 @@ static int s3c_hsotg_remove(struct platform_device *pdev)
>>>>  	}
>>>>  
>>>>  	s3c_hsotg_phy_disable(hsotg);
>>>> +	if (hsotg->phy)
>>>
>>> same here.
>>
>> Ok.
> 
> Same above, this will be NULL on failure (but is only applicable at this
> point on the platform data path.

Ah ok.. Btw where is phy_get being called? Is it not part of this series?

Thanks
Kishon

> 
> -Matt
> 

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists