lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 3 May 2019 14:18:38 +0200
From:   Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>
To:     Maxim Levitsky <mlevitsk@...hat.com>
Cc:     linux-nvme@...ts.infradead.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        kvm@...r.kernel.org, Jens Axboe <axboe@...com>,
        Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@...hat.com>,
        Keith Busch <keith.busch@...el.com>,
        Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>,
        Sagi Grimberg <sagi@...mberg.me>,
        Kirti Wankhede <kwankhede@...dia.com>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+samsung@...nel.org>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Wolfram Sang <wsa@...-dreams.de>,
        Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@...rochip.com>,
        "Paul E . McKenney " <paulmck@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Liang Cunming <cunming.liang@...el.com>,
        Liu Changpeng <changpeng.liu@...el.com>,
        Fam Zheng <fam@...hon.net>, Amnon Ilan <ailan@...hat.com>,
        John Ferlan <jferlan@...hat.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 00/10] RFC: NVME MDEV

I simply don't get the point of this series.

MDEV is an interface for exposing parts of a device to a userspace
program / VM.  But that this series appears to do is to expose a
purely software defined nvme controller to userspace.  Which in
principle is a good idea, but we have a much better framework for that,
which is called vhost.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists