lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 13 Feb 2021 16:58:27 +0100
From:   Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>
To:     Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...nel.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>
Cc:     Lee Jones <lee.jones@...aro.org>,
        Prashant Gaikwad <pgaikwad@...dia.com>,
        Tomer Maimon <tmaimon77@...il.com>,
        Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@...der.be>,
        Michael Turquette <mturquette@...libre.com>,
        Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@...aro.org>,
        Rajeev Kumar <rajeev-dlh.kumar@...com>,
        Jan Kotas <jank@...ence.com>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Fabio Estevam <festevam@...il.com>, linux-clk@...r.kernel.org,
        Boris BREZILLON <boris.brezillon@...e-electrons.com>,
        Ahmad Fatoum <a.fatoum@...gutronix.de>,
        Benjamin Fair <benjaminfair@...gle.com>,
        Emilio López <emilio@...pez.com.ar>,
        Viresh Kumar <vireshk@...nel.org>, openbmc@...ts.ozlabs.org,
        Michal Simek <michal.simek@...inx.com>,
        Jonathan Hunter <jonathanh@...dia.com>,
        Nancy Yuen <yuenn@...gle.com>, Chen-Yu Tsai <wens@...e.org>,
        Andy Gross <agross@...nel.org>, Loc Ho <lho@....com>,
        NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@....com>,
        Richard Woodruff <r-woodruff2@...com>,
        Tali Perry <tali.perry1@...il.com>,
        Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@...gutronix.de>,
        linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org,
        Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@...gutronix.de>,
        Maxime Ripard <mripard@...nel.org>,
        linux-tegra@...r.kernel.org, linux-omap@...r.kernel.org,
        Shiraz Hashim <shiraz.linux.kernel@...il.com>,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        Sören Brinkmann <soren.brinkmann@...inx.com>,
        Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@...l.net>,
        Tero Kristo <kristo@...nel.org>,
        Rajan Vaja <rajan.vaja@...inx.com>,
        Avi Fishman <avifishman70@...il.com>,
        Patrick Venture <venture@...gle.com>,
        Peter De Schrijver <pdeschrijver@...dia.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-renesas-soc@...r.kernel.org,
        Nuvoton Technologies <tali.perry@...oton.com>,
        Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@...il.com>,
        Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@...gutronix.de>,
        Shawn Guo <shawnguo@...nel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 00/21] [Set 2] Rid W=1 warnings from Clock

On Thu, Feb 11, 2021 at 07:07:30PM -0800, Stephen Boyd wrote:
> Quoting Lee Jones (2021-02-11 13:10:54)
> > On Thu, 11 Feb 2021, Stephen Boyd wrote:
> > 
> > > Quoting Lee Jones (2021-01-26 04:45:19)
> > > > This set is part of a larger effort attempting to clean-up W=1
> > > > kernel builds, which are currently overwhelmingly riddled with
> > > > niggly little warnings.
> > > > 
> > > > This is the last set.  Clock is clean after this.
> > > 
> > > Is it possible to slam in some patch that makes W=1 the default for the
> > > clk directory? I'm trying to avoid seeing this patch series again.
> > 
> > One of my main goals of this project is that everyone (contributors,
> > maintainers auto-builder robots etc) will be enabling W=1 builds
> > *locally*.
> > 
> > This isn't something you'll want to do at a global (i.e. in Mainline)
> > level.  That's kinda the point of W=1.
> > 
> 
> Agreed, but is it possible to pass W=1 in the drivers/clk/Makefile?

About a cycle ago, Arnd and i played around with this idea. The
Ethernet PHY subsystem is W=1 clean, and most of he network stack
is. But keeping it clean is not so easy, when developers do sometimes
add new warnings, since they have no idea the code is W=1 clean.

You are also not the only one asking for such a feature. RDMA also
asked recently.

Arnd, do you plan to push the patches?

      Andrew

Powered by blists - more mailing lists