lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 22 Aug 2020 18:34:08 +0200
From:   Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>
To:     Mickey Rachamim <mickeyr@...vell.com>
Cc:     Vadym Kochan <vadym.kochan@...ision.eu>,
        Jonathan McDowell <noodles@...th.li>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Jiri Pirko <jiri@...lanox.com>,
        Ido Schimmel <idosch@...lanox.com>,
        Oleksandr Mazur <oleksandr.mazur@...ision.eu>,
        Serhiy Boiko <serhiy.boiko@...ision.eu>,
        Serhiy Pshyk <serhiy.pshyk@...ision.eu>,
        Volodymyr Mytnyk <volodymyr.mytnyk@...ision.eu>,
        Taras Chornyi <taras.chornyi@...ision.eu>,
        Andrii Savka <andrii.savka@...ision.eu>,
        "netdev@...r.kernel.org" <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [EXT] Re: [net-next v4 1/6] net: marvell: prestera: Add driver
 for Prestera family ASIC devices

On Thu, Aug 20, 2020 at 10:00:21AM +0000, Mickey Rachamim wrote:

> > ASIC device specific handling is serviced by the firmware, current
> > driver's logic does not have PP specific code and relies on the FW
> > ABI which is PP-generic, and it looks like this how it should work
> > for boards with other ASICs, of course these boards should follow
> > the Marvell's Switchdev board design.  >
>
> All Marvell Prestera (DX) devices are all based on CPSS SDK. This is one SDK 
> and one build procedure that enables the Prestera driver to support all devices. 
> This unified support enables us (and our customers) to have one SW 
> implementation that will support variety of Prestera devices in same build/real-time 
> execution. 
> This approach also lead us with the implementation of the Prestera Switchdev drivers.
> As having detailed familiarity (20Y) with Marvell Prestera old/current/future devices - 
> this approach will be kept strictly also on the future.

So if i understand this correctly, the compatibility is not to
Prestera, but to the firmware running on the Prestera? You want to
express a compatibility to the ABI this firmware supports for the
switchdev driver to use?

	  Andrew

Powered by blists - more mailing lists